The Death Cure

Released 01/26/2018                               Rated: PG-13

The Maze Runner hooked me and each installment has left me craving more as I walked out of the theater. Needless to say I’ve been waiting a long time for this one to arrive. I was very sad when I heard that O’Brien suffered an accident during filming and had been hospitalized, thereby suspending production for an unknown amount of time. That sounds selfish, but don’t get me wrong I’m very glad he’s made a full recovery; his life and health are more important than a movie. So I was overjoyed when this film finally received a release date, not having heard anything on it for a while. Either I was just out of the loop or they kept the resuming of filming quiet, but whatever the reason this one kinda snuck up on me.

My husband and I loved this movie, which surprised my husband. He was mildly interested, mainly going because I wanted to see it and I had dragged him to the previous two which he generally enjoyed, but now with the completion of the trilogy he claims that out of all theses young adult adaptations Maze Runner is the best. Now, I haven’t read this book yet (I actually just started) but I wanted to get this post out as http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/906297-maze-runner-the-death-cure-postersI have two others I want to get up this month. This was the series I was doing a little experiment on: which is better? Is it the book, film, or whichever you’re exposed to first? I usually prefer the books, but I also usually read them first. My results are currently inconclusive as these movies have greatly deviated from their source material, so I’m going to have to continue with this experiment of mine.

I really don’t understand all the hate this movie is getting. Then again it’s mostly from critics, so I’m thinking they just weren’t the correct audience for this one. How about instead of slamming it because it’s not Three Billboards you praise it for what it is. I’m just happy it wasn’t another love story especially one with a love triangle. There are very subtle hints at it, but all in all it doesn’t distract from the story. It’s definitely more outright in the books, at least with what I’ve read so far, so I’m very thankful they downplayed the whole Teresa vs Brenda thing. I’m so over love triangles.

Anyway to wrap it all up, for an action/adventure dystopian film I think it’s great. This whole series is about loyalty and never leaving your friends behind. Many of the stunts and action scenes appear to have been done practically, which blows my mind and only adds to my love of this series. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes. I certainly never saw a few of them coming. Now Newt has been a favorite of mine since the first installment, and I knew shit was going to go down in this film but I didn’t know how or to what end. Thomas Brodie-Sangster is an amazing actor and he was incredible in his big scene. I still get chills just thinking about it. I can’t wait to see where his career is going to go.

Definitely go check this one out in theaters especially if you’re fond of the previous two installments. You won’t be sorry.

This entry was posted in action/adventure, PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment