Let Me In

Release 10/01/10                              Rated: R

Holy cow!! When they say terrifying bloody violence, they mean terrifying bloody violence. That should be a cue for me to not watch, but no, I haven’t quite picked up on that yet. This movie may have turned me off of vampires. Geez!http://www.bscreview.com/2010/09/chloe-moretz-let-me-in-posters/

So, needless to say, it was a bit much. At least for me. If you like gore, you’ll feel right at home.

This was a bit of a weird movie for me. On the one hand, you have the 12-year-old boy who’s lonely, and getting picked on. And on the other you have the “12-year-old” girl-vampire who is also lonely, and just trying to survive. So there’s middle school drama, and then people getting murdered in the same mix. It didn’t really mesh all that well.

It was a little slow to start out as it established where everything was coming from. And then things started happening. And then later I thought it was going to end, but it kept going. But that may have just been my anxiety for it to end. Like I said, it was a bit much for me. It was a cool concept, just gruesome.

So I don’t really know what else to say about this. It was more than I needed. Kind of long. Odd mixture. ….Yeah.

Ok, let me do this a little better, since I wasn’t able to get much sleep last night. LOL. I realized this doesn’t really give you that much to go on. So consider what’s above as my initial reaction.
.
This movie definitely brings vampires back into the monster category, which they’ve been shifting away from in one way or the other what with our romance novels, and Twilight, and Buffy. For Abby feeding is an animal-instinct, as it is animal-istic. Despite how long she’s been 12, she is not in control. Or maybe she is, but it’s a ritual to be brutal when attacking. There are all these high-pitched demonic grunts as she’s slamming the person from one wall to the other and to the floor, while she’s on top of them. Like, picture her as a leamer, that’s what she looks like from afar. And then she gets blood all over the place. I’m not kidding when I say that it’s everywhere. At least the big cats in Africa can keep themselves clean.

The only myth they didn’t cover in this movie is that crucifixes repel vampires. Everything else they pretty much “confirmed.” An interesting take on what happens when vampires aren’t invited into a house. But there is no invisible barrier keeping them out. They cover food (what we eat), the sun, coffins–eh, kind of, and turning someone. That was honestly something I did not need. And then obviously the blood.

As for the drama side of the story: you really want to know what is this bully’s problem. There’s really no need for him to be picking on Owen, but I guess that’s how it goes sometimes. But he’s just an ass, and gets slightly more violent through the movie. And then Owen stands up for himself. And you’re “yay” and “holy crap” at the same time. You learn why this guy is picking on Owen the way he does. But then he comes back at Owen ten-fold for what he did. And it’s just like seriously? What is wrong with these people?? Actions have consequences; are these boys really that thick-headed? But they get more than they deserve, which just added to the too-much-for-me aspect of the film.

So I hope this gives a better insight as to what’s in this movie.
.
This entry was posted in horror, R and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

