Wall-e

Released 6/27/08                              Rated: G

Wall-e is a mixed bag for me. On the one hand, you have the most adorable robot in the world! And on the other hand you have people trying to make a statement. I felt like this was Happy Feet all over again, only better by mostly focusing on the storyline of robots than the environmental issue at hand. (That’s not true. This movie is about the shenanigans this little robot gets into trying to help save humanity. Actually he’s trying to help a girl robot who’s mission is to try to save humanity, but who’s nitpicking the details?) http://clickthestream.com/posters/walle-poster964

 Now, you have to give props to the Disney & Pixar team for once again turning out amazing graphics and visuals. All of their projects are top notch. They really outdid themselves with this one. And this little robot has to be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! I guess what I really loved about him was how human he was. He’s curious, has as much difficulty getting out of bed as any of us, and has as much subtly at romance as a thirteen-year-old. 🙂 Wall-e makes me smile. I think he’s Disney & Pixar’s most lovable character yet!

I am glad I re-watched this movie, but I feel like it’s still a bit heavy outside the robots. I don’t want this to be a negative post, though. I guess the main thing is to try to take it as a joke; it is science fiction after all. Part of it may just be that the designers are just too good at what they do. LOL. Another part of it may be that it’s starting to happen right now. True, we don’t yet have hover-chairs, but the fact that these people needed their technology literally taken away from their faces was humbling. The fact that we’re too wrapped up in our own technology to function like we’re supposed to, is a bit disconcerting, and gets more true every day. We’re a little too-forward thinking for our own good I think. I’m getting off topic, but if anyone actually comes up with “lunch in a cup,” I’ll kill them.

True to all Disney & Pixar films, John Ratzengerger voices a character. I always play a game to find his voice. I haven’t failed yet! However, a first for D&P is live action sequences. There are only a few, and the way they did it works with the story, but I still find it a bit weird. I did like how they used actual clips from Hello, Dolly!, though. That was clever. But I must admit, I’ve never seen Hello, Dolly!, so I had no idea which movie was playing until I looked it up! It is too cute to watch Wall-e try to do the dance moves.

I’d say this movie is a fend-for-yourself type of flick. Some people like it, and some people don’t. You’re just gonna have to watch it and decide for yourself.

This entry was posted in adventure, family, G, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

