Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Released 5/20/11                              Rated: PG-13

Definitely not as confusing as At World’s End, thank heaven! This movie is more like the first one. But if I had to rank them it’d be: 1, 4, 2, 3. This film was really good; not as flawless as the first in my opinion, but really good.

I’m going to nitpick a little here. I didn’t honestly feel anyone’s drive to find the fountain of youth. Black Beard had a reason for searching for it, but it didn’t really make sense to me. Also, there didn’t really seem to be a lot of “searching” going on. It was almost as if everyone just somehow knew where to go. I don’t know. And the supposed flame between Depp and Cruz’s characters also felt lacking. I believe that there was a past between them, but I couldn’t really see any current sparks.

Back to Black Beard for a second: he wasn’t evil, he was kinda just there. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why I feel like this movie falls behind the first; there didn’t seem to be any real villain! And he’s supposed to be the most feared pirate, right? “If I don’t kill someone every now and again they forget who I am.” Well personally I never caught a glimpse of that pirate. I know this is Disney and a movie for the whole family, but come on. Compared to one character’s death scene….really? you couldn’t have thrown a little more in there??

There were a couple of throwbacks to the first film. I’ll let you find them for yourself. I felt like one of thehttp://videoeta.com/news/3118m was kinda forced, but that may have been because it was completely CGI. It also seemed unnecessary, like they literally just threw it in there. Oh well.

On the positive side: I didn’t feel like the relationship between the guy and the mermaid replaced Will and Elizabeth. This one wasn’t very prominent, and I liked that. That was my boyfriend’s fear, that they were just gonna [insert character here] in the exact same line up as before.

The mermaids were freakin’ awesome!! Everyone does their mermaids differently, but Disney definitely broke away from Ariel here. I wish we had gotten to learn a little bit more about them; but I really liked this take on these creatures. Something very Odyssey-ish about them. Now, I’ve always thought mermaids were cool, but this kicked it to a whole other level.They’re not just pretty girls with fins anymore.

I felt like Captain Jack Sparrow  🙂  was a little held back this time around. I’m not sure what makes me say that. He doesn’t sway as much as he normally does? I don’t know. I can’t put my finger on it. He didn’t quite seems as unpredictable as he normally is. But Johnny Depp is still the one and only Captain Jack Sparrow.

As always be sure to stick around after the credits!

This entry was posted in action/adventure, fantasy, PG-13 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

