Something Borrowed

Released 5/6/11                              Rated: PG-13

My feelings on this movie are mixed. I liked it; it was good movie, and I didn’t feel like I was dumped in sap, which, if you haven’t learned by now, is a turn-off for me of chick flicks. But I’m not exactly a fan of the methods chosen by the characters.

Of course I was routing for Rachel and Dex to get http://cinema.theiapolis.com/movie-2SYB/something-borrowed/gallery/something-borrowed-poster-1053611.htmltogether, just like everyone else was. But at the end of the day, they were still having an affair. (We’ve all seen the trailer.) This is a touchy subject for me because I’m old-fashioned and believe that sex should come after marriage. But more than that: it’s also one thing to have one drink too many and give in to your inner desires, and another to intentionally go behind someone’s back because they “took” something away from you and this is about what you want. Don’t get me wrong, they didn’t do this out of spite; it was miscommunication six years previous because no one honestly went for what they wanted.

The best part of this movie, hands down, is the epic badminton match. I don’t think there has ever been a more ferocious game. It was crazy and most unrealistic, but I loved it and thought it worked very well.

Ethan has to be my favorite character. He was real, he was funny; I just loved him. He was the driving force for this movie for me. He really cared about Rachel and what happened to her. And his attempts at evading the (at times scarey) Claire were great.

One thing I did like directing-wise was that the movie kinda started in the middle. It wasn’t linear like most movies are. We came in at Rachel’s thirtieth birthday and then had some flashbacks to times before. I thought it was nice touch that set it apart from other chick flicks.

Overall I liked it, I’d watch it again with a group of friends if they wanted to, but I don’t think it’s going in my personal DVD collection.

This entry was posted in PG-13, romantic comedy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something Borrowed

  1. Katherine says:

    I really enjoyed the book but for some reason, when translated to movie form, my morals kicked in and I couldn’t enjoy and support Rachel and Dex.

Leave a Reply

