Ratatouille

Released 6/29/07                              Rated: G

“Ratta tatta. Hey!– Why do they call it that?”
“What?”
“Ratatouille. It’s like a stew, right? Why do they call it that? If you’re gonna name a food you should give it a name that sounds delicious! Ratatouille doesn’t sound delicious. It sounds like rat…. and patootie. Rat patootie! Which does not sound delicious.”
 

I love this movie! It has some of the best lines; case-in-point: read above. But that’s only part of what makes it so great. There’s nothing about this film that I don’t like. Which generally makes it difficult for me to write about. But let me ask this: does Disney and Pixar ever not make a good movie? (I wasn’t very crazy about Cars, but the answer is no.)

Remy’s enthusiastic love for cooking is perfect. I love the beginning of the movie when he’s cooking the mushroom, and how he gets more and more excited with each new ingredient he finds to cook with it. Patton Oswalt really brings this character to life. I wish I could be able to do that; just whip up something new whenever I feel like it. To be able to take all these ingredients together and make something awesome out of them would be really cool.

I freaked out when I saw it for the first time and the rat colony mobilized. It was just too real. I have since then gotten over that, but geez.

Anton Ego may be my favorite character. I don’t know what it is about him that I like so much. He definitely considers himself to be above all else. He’s very sharp and can deliver verbal blows with the best of them. I especially love how his office is in the shape of a coffin. This character means business.

I definitely recommend this dish!

http://www.imtere.com/2009/05/watching-ratatouille/ratatouille-poster-walt-disney/

This entry was posted in family, G and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ratatouille

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Fantastical! You have to show me this movie!

Leave a Reply

