Resident Evil

Released 3/15/02                              Rated: R

OK, so apparently, no body with anything to say liked this movie. The critics detested it, and all the gamers complained about it. And yet they’ve made three sequels with yet another one on the way…

I didn’t think the movie was that bad. Yes, it could have been better in a few ways, but for what it was, it was good. I even give them props because they had a low budget to work with, and the few things that I now know were extremely low-budget just blow my mind because they aren’t the things that I had issues with in the movie. For example, during the film commentary Anderson mentioned that they pretty much had just the one door that they kept repainting and using over and over again. And one of the sliding doors only opened because there were people on each side pulling the doors with wires. That’s crazy.

I liked the story. It isn’t until the end of the film that we http://www.moviegoods.com/movie_poster/resident_evil_2002.htmknow who the villain really is. We’re trying to figure it out along side characters. What’s interesting, and I wish they had been able to completely go through with it, is that this was intended to incorporate elements of Alice in Wonderland. Stuff like that is what I live for in movies. I don’t always want it to just be face-value; give me something deeper!

The Licker, as I’ve been told it’s called, is, without a doubt, the worst thing about this movie. If there’s one thing I can’t stand it’s that you can tell when something is completely computer generated that there’s really no hope of it looking realistic at all. Especially the first time we see it, when it busts out of the tank, it’s just painful CGI. It gets a little better throughout the movie, but not much unfortunately.

If you only chose this movie due to the title, it might leave you with more to be desired. The name “Resident Evil” sounds like it would be a gruesome horror flick; probably more like the game (though I wouldn’t know, I’ve never played it). This movie, if I had to compare it, would be more like The Mummy; a little bit of action/adventure thrown into the mix. It’s not just about surviving the zombies, we’re trying to piece together what happened and what’s going on. A little more zombie action would have been nice, as well as some effects in that area. If you’re looking for a more pure zombie flick, I would recommend 28 Days Later.

But despite its flaws, this is a good movie. I might even recommend this one over the sequels, which seem more brainless, but the jury is currently out on that one. 🙂

This entry was posted in action/adventure, horror, R, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

