You’ve Got Mail

Released 12/18/98                              Rated: PG

This is one of those awesome romantic comedies (or chick flicks) that has won over my heart. Remade from two movies in the 40s originally based off a play, You’ve Got Mail has –then– modernized the story by having the pen pals e-mail each other, as opposed to write. (Because who writes letters anymore?) 🙂 My question is if they remake it again what medium will they use this time? Facebook? Where our protagonists have profile pictures of their dog or a movie? Is there a way to Google chat without seeing the other person? It’s interesting to think about because technology is changing faster than ever nowadays.http://www.freecodesource.com/movie-posters/B001N3LLH4--you%27ve-got-mail-movie-poster.html

There are so many things I love about this movie: the writing, the story, the awesome lines, but I think the biggest thing is Tom Hanks. There’s just something about Tom Hanks in these types of movies that brings a smile to your face. For instance, there’s a scene in which he is taking his aunt and brother (ages 11 and 5) to a carnival and they all ride the kiddie train. Sitting on top of the little train car looking around like “no big deal; this is natural,” he gets me laughing every time. His quirks are the best. Hanks has a way of delivering perfectly, and I’m glad no one else got the role. It wouldn’t have been the same.

Maybe it’s because I’m subconsciously jealous. I can never seem to find anything to talk about, especially on the phone. I used to talk to my friends all the time on the phone when I was in elementary school. For the life of me I can’t remember what we talked about though. I’m better with writing now, but it’s still a matter of what to talk about. These characters write to each other about the most random things, and the end result is brilliant. (See the third quote at the bottom for an example). I wish I had things like that to say, but maybe that will come with actually having a life.

Great movie. Brilliantly done. Wish there were more like it.

“I was eloquent! Shit!” –Joe
“A hotdog is singing. You need quiet when a hotdog is singing?” –Frank
“The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, dark, light, caf, decaf, low fat, non fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who the hell they are, can for only $2.95, get not only just a cup of coffee, but an absolutely defining sense of self. Tall! Decaf! Cappuccino!” –NY152
“‘Joe’? ‘Just call me Joe’? Like you’re one of those stupid twenty-two year old girls. ‘Hi I’m Kimberly!’ ‘Hi I’m Janice!’ Don’t they know you’re supposed to have a last name? It’s like they’re an entire generation of cocktail waitresses.” –Kathleen
This entry was posted in PG, romantic comedy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

