Winnie The Pooh

Released 7/15/11                              Rated: G

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I was a Disney-baby. Disney movies were the majority of movies that I grew up with. By no means the only, but definitely the majority. I think I am biased, so keep that in mind for the remainder of this post.

http://collider.com/super-movie-poster-winnie-the-pooh-movie-poster/77898/I liked it, I don’t think it was bad, but I don’t think I’m going to own it. One of the reasons for this is because practically all the voices are different from what I’ve grown to love. However, Jim Cummings, while not the original Pooh Bear, has filled Sterling Holloway’s shoes wonderfully (and has for a long time). He also plays the voice of Tigger. I had not heard his Tigger before watching this movie, but I think he put a little too much Darkwing Duck into it at times.

It also seemed kind of short to me. IMDB says this movie is about ten minutes shorter than the other two which are my favorites. Maybe I felt a slight lack of content in this one; I’m not sure. Maybe I’ve just grown up and this one would have been cuter to me if I were a little younger. Animation has changed a bit with the times; I will say that. It’s not drastic, but there was something different about it at times.

I also think this movie had a lot of similarities to Pooh’s Grand Adventure: The Search for Christopher Robin, which is one of my favorites I mentioned earlier. I personally liked the way the story unfolded in The Search for Christopher Robin rather than this 2011 movie; it wasn’t as silly as this one made it out to be. Despite the fact that Owl is wrong on both accounts, in the 1997 film he “knows” what he’s talking about, where as all the characters contribute to creating the 2011 villain. There’s also the fact that no one really learns anything in this movie. In the 1997 film they all learn something about themselves during their search, but here they were just having an adventure.

Overall it was cute, but I’d like a little more out of it I guess. The kids will love it.

This entry was posted in family, G and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

