Hugo

Released 11/23/11                              Rated: PG

Initially, I wasn’t so sure about this one, but I loved it! Hugo swept me away in a way that I was not expecting at all. Being a Film Minor (or attempted, anyway :/) I fully appreciate where this movie takes its audience. It’s a little educational as well as entertaining.

I didn’t look much into this movie. It seemed descent so I figured what the hell? And I think this movie is brilliant. See, this is what I love: (if you’ve read my Moviegoer Ramblings #2 post you understand my rant). The trailer took me on one ride, and the actual movie took me on another. That’s how it should always be.http://www.starmometer.com/2011/07/15/martin-scorseses-hugo-movie-poster-trailer/

And I just thought about this the other day… Though I didn’t see the movie in 3D, Scorsese both pays homage and, in a way, reinvents one of the first “movies” ever made. You’ll see this in the movie, so I’m not going to go into great detail and have a nerd-moment, but I don’t usually pick up on these things immediately so I want to draw out the connection. One of the first movies was of a train coming almost straight at the camera. Martin Scorsese has a 3D train coming at the camera, twice, actually. And after having read up on it, one is based on an actual incident in 1895. I did not know that, but that was an interesting read.

I’d recommend this movie. Even if you just want to have a good time, this film is worth it. Everybody does a great job. And for me, some of it was just crazy to see. I loved it.

This entry was posted in adventure, family, PG and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

