Hook

Released 12/11/91                              Rated: PG

I went looking through people’s reviews on this movie and the result was one end of the spectrum or another; no one was really in the middle. Either they loved it, or they absolutely HATED it. They were bashing everyone, they were in shock that Steven Spielberg made it, and some even went so far as to call fans idiots and lay claims that there is no one on the planet who would like this movie. In my personal opinion, those people need to get a life. It’s true this movie is not Jaws, or E.T., but let me just say: this movie is AWESOME! I like Hook better than either of those. And all y’all vehemently against this movie need to take a chill pill and return to your own desirable films.

This movie is not a sequel. It’s not an adaptation. It just is. What might happen if Peter Pan had stayed in our world? And what I love about it is that it’s not just our world where Peter Pan has become an adult, but it is literally our world, where we have the story of Peter Pan. Wendy is now an old lady and she’s trying to get Peter to remember everything. If you’re confused, watch the movie, I promise it explains itself.

The one complaint my boyfriend has every time we watch this movie is that Neverland looks like a set. To me it looks like a giant theme park without the roller coasters. But I think it works. It’s part of the feel of the film. If you can accept Captain Hook’s eyebrows, LOL, than I think the nature of the world is fine. I mean, this is a world for the kids; if it starts looking too serious, nothing will mesh together and you lose a very important part of the overall piece. The Lost Boys’ hangout, or whatever you want to call it, it so cool. It’s got everything and looks very modern. Skateboarding, skate-sailing??, basketball and a giant slingshot. This is not your typical Neverland.

I grew up with this movie. It’s one of my favorites. I think everyone did such a great job. Great lines, I love the costumes and the characters, the plot, and all the little details in between. Freakin’ John Williams made the score which is a perfect blend of fantasy and playful adventure. I sincerely suggest you give it a try. This movie is great and is lovable till the end.

http://www.moviegoods.com/movie_poster/hook_1991.htmPeter: I remember you being a lot bigger.
 Captain Hook: To a ten-year-old I’m huge.
 
Peter: Remember you’re in England, the land of good manners.
Toodles: [answers the door] IT’S SNOWING! [slams the door]
 
Captain Hook: I beg your pardon? …You must be joking. Haha! It would seem Peter Pan has a real problem with heights.
 
Granny Wendy: Peter don’t you know who you are?
This entry was posted in action/adventure, family, fantasy, PG and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

