Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Released 10/03/08                              Rated: PG-13

I loved this movie when I first saw it, and I still love it after not having seen it since it came out. This is the perfect teen movie in my opinion. Wasn’t what I thought it was going to be by just the title, and I’ve never heard of the book, but I really enjoyed this movie. I would have like the musical aspect to reflect the title just a little bit more, but it’s great as is.

My only problem with this movie is that they made it about sex. Kinda. It’s the typical high school B.S. where someone exaggerates a claim, in this case to make someone else feel inadequate, and then by the end of the movie that someone else isn’t inadequate anymore. (This isn’t the plot of the whole film, it’s just a side-plot.) Am I just that 1% of the population that doesn’t need sex in a movie to make it a good movie? I mean, if some chick who I didn’t even really like came up to me out of the blue and proceeded to try to put me down about my sex life I’d be like “Shut the f up, B*, it’s none of your damn business anyway.” (I probably wouldn’t actually curse unless she got me really mad. I don’t normally talk like that.) http://loserificus.soup.io/tag/Nick

It just drives me crazy… but I’m not going to ramble on about that, because that’s not what this post is for. This movie is great. It has everything, including the grossest piece of gum that has ever been passed around. What I like about it is the fact that this isn’t about getting the bad boy, or the football star, or the cheerleader, or the popular girl as is the formula for most teen movies. It’s just these normal teens going through real life and how relationships are. It’s a breath of fresh air, really.

Many people’s complaint about Michael Cera is that they say he is the same character in everything he does. I don’t think that’s true. I think he just brings each character into reality and everybody writes them off as exactly the same. There is a difference between Juno‘s Bleeker, Superbad‘s Evan, and Nick & Norah‘s Nick and a difference between Scott Pilgrim‘s Scott and Youth in Revolt‘s Nick/Francois. This guy can act to the point where his characters are like real people, not just representations of real people like some characters end up being. So get over it. 🙂

So if you’re bored and want something to liven up your mood, I’d give this one a try.

This entry was posted in comedy, drama, PG-13 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist

  1. beautyinmud says:

    Agreed lets shake on it, one of my favorites too.

Leave a Reply

