Cabin in the Woods

Released 4/13/12                              Rated: R

This is one of those movies where I wish I hadn’t seen the trailer. A character gets knocked off, and then I’m sitting there going “Something’s up. The trailer showed this character finding a big piece of the puzzle. They can’t be dead. Are they all not dead? What’s going on?” In fact, I may just start avoiding trailers, if I can help it. Trailers do not need to show the entire movie in 3 minutes. Just entice us into the seats!

So the whole premise is “you think you know the story.” And for the first half of the movie you do. A group of teens going on vacation to some isolated spot where there is no way anyone could find them, where they start getting picked off. You’re probably even thinking http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Joss-Whedon-Cabin-Woods-Gets-Twisted-Poster-28146.html“Man, this is so lame.” I did for a second. I really thought it was the end of the movie and I’m sitting there going where was the big twist? Enter the big twist.

I’m trying to figure out what I can say, and what I shouldn’t. I will say this though, they made the most awesome monster bat I have ever seen! (And I am probably the only person geeking out about that)

It’s a parody of the horror movie genre, while still being a horror movie. Think more Young Frankenstein than Space Balls. The humor in it is integrated into the story, as opposed to flat out jokes. While it’s in no way a comedy, Cabin follows the pattern of the stereotypical horror story to deceive you into thinking you know what’s going on before turning the tables. The trailer doesn’t go into a lot, so I’m trying hard not to ruin anything, but I thought it was clever how the stereotypes were brought out of the group. There is no dumb blonde, frat boy, slut, st– well, yeah, there’s a stoner. LOL. But that’s not who our characters are; they were made.

It’s a good movie. I would recommend it. If you’re looking for brainless I’d suggest you look somewhere else. You’ll probably end up hating this. While this isn’t exactly profound, it’s different, which is the whole point. Definitely worth a try.

Fun fact: this movie was actually shot in 2009. It sat on a shelf for almost three years as the creators apparently fought the studio against jumping on the 3D bandwagon. Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard won, thank goodness. I’m so glad there are filmmakers out there who don’t feel 3D is necessary to get people to see their movie.

This entry was posted in horror, R, thriller and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

