Batman Begins

Released: 06/15/05                              Rated: PG-13

No one better touch Batman for a long time after this trilogy. These are the only Batman movies as far as I’m concerned, and there will never be a better set of films. It could have just been the 90s, but to me all four of the previous movies seemed to stick a little too closely to the comic book world. All of the villains looked as though they literally popped out of the pages, with the bold colors and cartoony costumes; Gotham looked like a cheap theme park ride set, an nothing seemed real to me. That’s why I love this trilogy, because it’s realistic.

It literally starts at the beginning of it all; hence the name http://www.the-reel-mccoy.com/movies/2005/BatmanBegins.htmlof the movie. This is how Batman came to be. Everything else, that I’ve seen anyway, has already had Batman as an established being. Christopher Nolan chose to start before that, which is what makes this movie awesome for me. It goes through the science behind the smoke bombs, his fight training, how he can just disappear, where his armor came from, the ideas behind some of his gadgets and so on. They even made the car modern. I guess the reason why I like this so much is because I can see the thought process behind it all. He’s not just a man in a costume fighting the bad guys. I never read the comics or graphic novels, or watched the shows, or anything, so for me to like this it has to really draw me in, and explaining this character definitely helped.

The world Nolan has created is very realistic, as I’ve said before. It’s dark and it’s gritty, and just works perfectly. I’m so glad he took it out of toon-world. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the other movies, but I’m pretty sure none of the others had a plug into the next movie at the end. That’s another thing that I like so much with this movie. It introduces the villain for the next movie, making it a continuation. The others seemed to be completely separate from each other. Like episodes. The others also had several different Batman villains at once: Poison Ivy and Mr. Freeze and Bane (kinda), the Penguin and Catwoman, and Two-Face and the Riddler. Nolan kind of does this as well, but there’s still only one villain at a time. He’ll introduce a second character, but there’s still only one Batman has to worry about.

I would recommend this movie over and over. It’s got some awesome lines to help balance out the serious tone of the movie. I’d actually forgotten how good it is. It’s not just a Batman movie; it deals with fear, and the usage as well as the conquering of it. It’s my boyfriend’s favorite movie, and might be one of mine as well.

This entry was posted in action, drama, fantasy, PG-13 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

