Treasure Planet

Released 11/27/02                              Rated: PG

http://www.impawards.com/2002/treasure_planet.htmlI absolutely love this movie. I can’t believe no one else does too. This movie is ten kinds of awesome. Since seeing this trailer I really wanted to see this. I don’t know how I didn’t see this movie in theaters; the release date wasn’t too far off from my birthday. Not sure when I finally saw it, but I fell in love, and it’s now one of my favorite DVDs.

This is a film adaptation of the classic story of Treasure Island, which has had numerous adaptations dating as far back as 1918 in the Silent Era. I’ve never read the book, but I did like Disney’s previous adaptation with the Muppets. This adaptation, however, is awesome! Set in outer space, this story takes on a whole new look and feel like never before. The visuals are cool, the music is pretty good, and the dialogue is both funny and at times brilliant. Captain Amelia is probably my favorite here. The way she talks is just great; Emma Thompson really did a fantastic job portraying her as well.

This movie is its own, yet it’s still this classic story. Disney sci-fi-ed it up with inter-galactic travel, aliens, and technology. I just don’t understand how this movie doesn’t even make the radar for some people. This is a really good movie.

I would highly recommend this; though I might be biased. 🙂 If you’re looking for an fun, action-packed movie for family night, this is it.

This entry was posted in action/adventure, family, PG, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

