Real Steel

Released 10/7/11                              Rated: PG-13

Now, if there’s one thing you have to understand about me, it’s that when I pick a movie to go see in theaters, it generally sucks. I wish I was exaggerating. IE: Whiteout, Four Christmases, Yes Man… And the movies that I off-the-bat don’t want to see, but then change my mind and kinda do, are fantastic! IE: The Hangover, Date Night, Scott Pilgrim VS. The World, 30 Minutes Or Less… But every now and again I’ll get one right the first time.

Real Steel has to be one of the best movies I’ve seen all year (2011. I started writing this post a long time ago). I’ll admit that I was a little worried that it was going to end up being typical and a slight cop out, but it wasn’t. It was a perfect blend of both action and drama to where neither one drowns out the other.

I’m not a fan of boxing, but I got so into it during the movie that I just wanted to get up and cheer along with them. (It’s not that I don’t like it, I just don’t gravitate to many sports… at all) This world comes alive as you’re watching. This movie was done very well, which is the point of good CGI; you forget that this stuff isn’t real.

http://www.moviefanatic.com/2011/08/hugh-jackmans-fighting-in-new-real-steel-poster/

Everyone in this movie did a fantastic job. Hugh Jackman, of course; Evangeline Lilly was great in her first role I’ve seen her in after LOST; Dakota Goyo even impressed me. And of course our mechanical wonder, ATOM. If this movie was completely about humans, I don’t think people would have loved it as much. There’s just something loveable about a non-human hero that you can project human emotions to. …If that made any sense at all.

Not only is this a really good movie, but it’s also one that makes you feel good when you’re watching it. I need to own this one. If you haven’t seen this yet, you’re truly missing out.

This entry was posted in action, drama, PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

