Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles

Released 11/11/94                              Rated: R

I’ve always been in to vampires — this is before they became the next big craze, mind you. I don’t know what started it. Knowing me, it was probably when I started buying books. After a while the young adult books didn’t really hold my interest any more. I remember searching through the book descriptions on Amazon, and towards the end of high school I started buying some paranormal romance books. That’s all there was. If you wanted a story about vampires, you had to take the sexy parts with it. There were two series that I fell in love it because they had a really good story and weren’t all sex: The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward, and The Dark Hunter Novels by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I recommend them.

I did read Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire in high school. Last Christmas I received her Vampire Chronicles, and look forward to reading the rest of them. When I bring this book out in public everyone keeps asking me if it’s a Bible because it’s so big and ornate. LOL, no.http://www.movieposter.com/poster/MPW-71385/Interview_With_The_Vampire.html

My main issue with this movie is the characters. Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise, and Antonio Banderas were wonderful, but these characters didn’t stand out to me as well as they did in the book. I didn’t feel the relationships between these characters were very evident; which is mainly what this movie is about. The only person I thought was spot-on was Kirsten Dunst. She played Claudia perfectly! The perfect mixture of an angelic face and an ancient terror; she is the highlight of this movie. I would own this just for her performance.

Little events in the book were either turned around or left out which were important in how everyone interacts with each other, as I said before. Louis’ love-hate relationship with Lestat, Armand’s love for Louis, Lestat and Claudia’s strained relationship, etc. For instance, Claudia persists in trying to find out about other vampires. Lestat refuses to give any kind of answer, leading both Claudia and Louis to start to feel like they are the only ones of their kind. The purpose of the move to Europe, where Claudia’s research on legends has led her, is to find another vampire. In the movie they do talk of other vampires, so the quest to find them doesn’t seem as important as it’s supposed to.

Overall I’d say this movie is pretty good. The majority of the special effects still hold up. More plot-driven than action packed. If you’re looking for a vampire movie that isn’t a complete gore-fest I would give this one a try.

This entry was posted in drama, horror, R and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

