Underworld: Awakening

Released 1/20/12                              Rated: R

I wish 3D movies could be “fixed” before being distributed on DVD. You can always tell what was supposed to be 3D, and on a regular DVD it just looks awful and completely unrealistic. http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Underworld-Awakening-Poster-Has-Kate-Beckinsale-Leather-Guns-27878.htmlMaybe it looks different in the actual third dimension, but translating that back to 2D for mass market release just doesn’t work. A simple blending of the seams would suffice.

I did not love this installment, but I also didn’t hate it. I liked the story, characters, actors, most of the effects, etc, but I think it was the writing that got me. Not that this series is known for its brilliant dialogue or anything, but I could have done with something a little more involved. It just felt so plain to me. It could have been that I was bored enough to notice it. It didn’t feel like a whole lot was going on this round.

I liked the girl. Unfortunately there wasn’t much mystery behind her character. I don’t know if that’s because of trailers or interviews, but I knew who she was before you’re even supposed to know she’s there  due to some marketing material. Her special effects were pretty good though. I believed what she was.

Selene shooting her way up through the bottom of an elevator was a little redundant. Shooting down a level in the subway in the first movie was freakin’ awesome! I felt they were just reusing the same trick here, which is dangerous in a series that has gone on as long as this one. Fans want to see something brand new, not the same thing over and over again.

Overall, meh. Yes, a movie like this would be cool in 3D, but that’s not the sole factor to getting butts in the seats! It feels like that’s all they had going for them.

This entry was posted in action, fantasy, horror, R and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Underworld: Awakening

  1. Yeah, I seem to recall being underwhelmed by this movie. And I didn’t see it 3D. Generally avoid 3D–it just doesn’t add enough to the movie to be worth the extra dough, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

