Catching Fire

Released 11/22/13                              Rated: PG-13

I waited FOREVER for this movie to come out!! I knew they were going to do well with it. I loved the book; it’s my favorite out of the trilogy, and they did not disappoint me. My only complaint was about 13, but they way they did it works, so I’m just going to shut up. My fiancé and I don’t see too many movies more than once in the theater, but we came back for this one.

The more I watch the first movie (and the fact that I’ve recently reread the book), the more I realize The Hunger Games needed some improvement. However, they really hit the nail on the head with http://www.refinery29.com/2013/10/54516/hunger-games-catching-fire-posterCatching Fire. This is one of my favorite movies of the year.

I think I even like the movie more so than the book. The story is a little more rounded with the scenes of President Snow, like they did with the first movie, and I appreciate that. This way we find the reasons why certain choices were made. Snow wants Katniss taken out, but Plutarch is like “let’s lower her credibility a little first.” There weren’t any commentators around this time; instead we were reminded that this is a televised event made for audiences by watching with the Gamemaker and his team. There actually wasn’t much manipulation on the part of the Gamemaker this time around. But he made such a crazy arena, he didn’t need to manipulate much. I would love to know what terrors the other wedges of the arena held. The ones that we did see were done with perfection.

Jena Malone and Sam Claflin were both phenomenal as Johanna Mason and Finnick Odair. Both of them were perfect and I cannot wait to see them in the next two movies!! Here we are introduced to other victors, and in the next movie we’re going to get some more insight as to what life has been like for some after the games. We see a whole new side to Finnick, and I am so excited!! They’ve really done a fantastic job casting these movies. I don’t think I would change anyone.

Visually stunning, perfectly cast, brilliantly made; this movie shines. I can’t wait to own it!! November hurry up and get here! I want Mockingjay Part 1 NOW!

This entry was posted in action/adventure, PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

