Godzilla

Released 5/16/14                              Rated: PG-13

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this movie. I’ve never seen anything Godzilla really. The trailer didn’t thrill me; I just wasn’t interested. But then we went to go see it, and now I’m like: I want this movie.

My only concept of Godzilla was the basic idea of this gigantic lizard/dinosaur-terror destroying buildings and wreaking havoc on the city. I’m so glad that isn’t all this movie was! In fact, that concept was completely wrong. Godzilla’s not the villain, he’s the hero. They basically http://awesomeness360.deviantart.com/art/New-Official-Godzilla-2014-poster-435489585explained these creatures presence as nature at work, and I really liked that take on things. Millions of years ago the planet was much more radioactive, and the gigantic creatures of the time consumed said radiation until they were forced underground to find more because the surface radiation levels were dwindling. Well wouldn’t you know it? A couple of M.U.T.O.s (massive unidentified terrestrial object, as dubbed by the Armed Forces) have surfaced, and Godzilla has come forth to reset the balance of nature.

I loved the M.U.T.O.s. I didn’t feel as though someone just yelled “fictional creature!” and created them; there were differences between the two. (I’m not going to spoil everything.) They felt like legitimate animals to me. Somebody did their research on the animal kingdom, and it shows. I saw emotion coming from these creatures as well as their crazy physical attributes. They came out really well. I also really loved Godzilla. I thought he looked great, which people have been picking on him for, saying he’s definitely the American Godzilla because I guess he’s a bit “meatier” than he used to be. He just exuded this I’m-in-charge attitude. He didn’t give a damn about the humans; he was only interested in the M.U.T.O.s. I just wish we’d had a little more with him.

My only complaint is our main characters. In the beginning of the film they were interesting and we wanted to know more about them and see them succeed, but by the end it kind of felt like we were still following them solely because we need someone to follow. It might have been because Ford moved around so much and was always around the action, but about halfway through the movie it felt like we were tagging along too much. It got a little hard to really care. If they had focused a little more on the Armed Forces as a whole, it might have worked better. Or maybe our main human character wasn’t all that interesting…

I’ve heard from a couple of classic Godzilla fans that they did not like this movie. Honestly, I don’t see why, but this is my first real encounter with the legendary icon. I did see the last bit of the 1998 movie, but that whole thing was so far center of the main character that I’m not entirely sure if it counts.

I loved this movie! It was awesome!

This entry was posted in PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

