The Maze Runner

Released 9/19/14                              Rated: PG-13

I loved this movie. Hadn’t read the book, I’m not even positive I saw the full trailer, but I wanted to go see it, and see it I did. I loved every minute of it. I had no idea where it was going, and I don’t generally get that feeling a lot. After watching the movie I read the book. I’ve often wondered if in the cases of books made into movies if people just like the first ones they’re exposed to. I haven’t really been able to test that theory out very well, so I’m making myself see these movies before reading their respective books, but I feel like I picked a wildcard to test this theory on.

Having seen the movie first, I consider the book to be at first out of order, followed by completely changed, but it ultimately ends the same way. The more I read the book the more I http://www.impawards.com/2014/maze_runner_xlg.html preferred the way everything unfolded in the movie.” The only book I’ve read so far that has been completely different from its movie has been Edge of Tomorrow, but I loved both the film and the book in that case. This one is just throwing me for a loop.

I’m not going to go into all the changes they made from the book, but I feel everything they did change was for the better, and made for a more intriguing story. I mean, the Maze spelling out words? Really? The sequence of sections for the pass-code sounds way less far-fetched. And the fact that the Maze was built outdoors is more believable than the entire thing being located inside a single building. The only plot hole I see with that comes at the tail-end of the movie [SPOILER ALERT] when we see all these skyscrapers buried in sand dunes. If we are legitimately outside, and that is the state of the world, how the hell did it rain? And the whole purpose of the Maze Trials is to test these kids under stress, weed out the weak ones, to try to use them to find a cure for the Flare. You can’t get adequate results if you take away the threat of being stung by a Griever, having already had the serum to counteract their venom in the book.

I loved all the actors; I thought they were great, and I  can’t wait for them to come back in the sequel. I actually like the characters in the film more. They just seem more likable and unified in the movie. The only one that bothered me was Teresa. She really didn’t do much, she was kinda just there. She was a little more involved in the book, but here she felt more like a placeholder, so I’m really hoping her character has more content/development in the upcoming films.

I absolutely loved how they created this world. It all feels so real, like they legitimately build the maze. Yes, there is obvious CGI, but I can forgive them for a single scene. I love the score as well. It does nothing but add to the awesomeness. Some of the action scenes are difficult to follow, and honestly, I don’t know if filmmakers do that to make it seem more intense, or to cover up CGI, but if I have to sit there and take a moment to figure out what I’m looking at, you’ve taken me out of the movie, and no one wants that. But for the most part the camera work isn’t bad.

All in all I love the movie so much better than the book. If you read the book first you’re probably not going to agree with me, and I totally get that, but it all ends up on the same note. Check it out!

This entry was posted in action/adventure, PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

