Night at the Museum: The Secret of the Tomb

Released 12/19/14                              Rated: PG

This movie was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. It’s been a long time since I saw the first installment, and I skipped the second, but this one was a pretty good movie full of references and jokes and actors. I had a great time.

First off, I really only went and saw this movie for Mickey http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2692250/Rooney and Robin Williams, both of whom passed earlier this year, and they dedicated the film to both actors. That both made me sad, and made me smile. It really sucks to realize that neither of them are with us anymore. I won’t lie, my husband and I were tearing up when Teddy Roosevelt (Williams) returned to wax. That was a tender moment for us. And it’s classic Robin Williams. We are all going to miss him. =(

Everybody was amazing. Ben Stiller is great. I never gave him much credit before, because I just never liked the movies he was in, but lately he’s really won me over. To be able to go between his two completely different characters is incredible. Rebel Wilson always makes me smile; she’s just crazy. Hugh Jackman’s cameo was brilliant! That entire scene was epic! Robin Williams, Mickey Rooney, and Dick Van Dyke all warmed my heart. Ricky Gervais was a trip, and Dan Stevens as Sir Lancelot was perfect. Everyone really was fantastic.

I want to say the underlying message here has to do with children growing up and finding their own path and take care of themselves instead of holding their parents’ hands; however, I feel that specific plot line fizzled in the mix somewhere. It was there, but it didn’t seem to get fully thought out. Nevertheless, the main plot was entertaining enough to make up for that.

Overall: a good time at the movie theater. I’d recommend it. It’s hard to get a really good family movie these days.

 

This entry was posted in action/adventure, comedy, family, PG and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Night at the Museum: The Secret of the Tomb

  1. subitolove says:

    I watched the movie Dead Poets Society on New Year’s Eve and have just written a review on it. Beautiful screenplay. Coincidentally used the same quote from the movie as my blog post’s title. Have enjoyed reading yours : )

Leave a Reply

