The Princess Bride

Released 10/09/1987                           Rated: PG

This film might be the most beloved movie of all time. It is definitely a phenomenon that has swept up fans of all generations. There is no denying the joy one gets from watching this movie. Never has there been a better blend of everything a person could want out of a film: sword fights, romance, murder plots, giants, revenge, miracles, monsters, chases, and fun.

I didn’t grow up with this movie the way most people did. No one sat me down and said you need to watch this movie; I had to find it on TV. The only movies I remember being sat down for (other than our preparation in going to Universal Studios for the first time) were The Ten Commandments and Anne of Green Gables, neither of which were overly http://dungeonsmaster.com/2011/05/top-fantasy-movies-from-the-80s/interesting to me as a child. But The Princess Bride was awesome, and it seemed like it was always on.

I believe part of the reason why people gravitate to this film is because it’s relatable. Let’s be honest, the first time you ever heard the title The Princess Bride you probably weren’t too keen on the idea. “Is this a kissing book?” But just like the grandson in the movie you get sucked into the story; you can’t walk away. I don’t think I’ve ever seen another movie that has so enthralled its viewers so easily.

It’s not just the dialogue. Anyone can spout off sentences. The characters become real, even though you know they’re just characters! They’re not one-dimensional at all. A lovable giant who likes to rhyme: “Anybody want a peanut?” A revenge-seeking Spaniard who has an appreciation for skill: “You seem a decent fellow. I hate to kill you.” A reluctant miracle man and his wife: “The King’s stinking son fired me. And thank you so much for bringing up such a painful subject. While you’re at it why don’t you  give me a nice paper cut and pour lemon juice on it. We’re closed!” A prince trying to start a war: “Not one couple in a century has that chance, no matter what the story books say. And so I think no man in a century will suffer as greatly as you will.” The supremely skilled man in black with a quick-wit: “You mean, you’ll put down your rock and I’ll put down my sword, and we’ll try and kill each other like civilized people?” And a princess caught in between it all: “You’re alive. If you want I can fly!”

If somehow you haven’t seen this movie, give it a shot. If you have, it might be time for a re-watch. 🙂

This entry was posted in adventure, comedy, PG, romantic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Princess Bride

  1. Jessika Ali says:

    Ahh yes The Princess Bride”it’s an true Classic one of it’s kind,if only we could enjoy more movies as wholesome as this I’m so glad u enjoyed this movie as children me an Adrian loved it so much we played it over an over again,if u get a chance I recommend Edward Scissorhands that was my fav if u never scene it I’m sure u will like it the character is played by Johnny Depp

  2. Adrian Wehunt says:

    Spot on! Very well done!

Leave a Reply

