Dr. Seuss’ The Cat in the Hat

Released 11/21/2003                              Rated: PG

I remember liking it when it came out. While it’s the same as I remembered, as an adult I can appreciate more of the humor this time around, or at least understand more of the jokes. It felt very much in the same vein as Shrek: adult-ish jokes in a kid-friendly setting. Like when Hippie Cat calls the dog a Canine-American; no little kid is really going to understand that, but the delivery is what makes it comical. I don’t feel like the movie was as lovable as the book, but for what it is, it’s not half bad.

I did like how they really fleshed out the brother and sister characters. And they didn’t just get personalities, but polar opposite ones: Sally is a control freak, and Conrad is a rule breaker. “It’s getting harder to tell people that we’re related.” Because their dynamic is so out of whack, the Cat http://www.movieinsider.com/m38/dr-seuss-the-cat-in-the-hat/has to balance them out with each other. Conrad and Sally learn not only about themselves, but also what it takes to work together and be a family.

As far as bringing the Cat to life, they did a pretty bang-up job. I can only imagine what Myers had to go through to get into costume every day. The make-up, the suit, the animatronic ears and tail, and that HAT! “Without my hat I’m just your garden-variety, six-foot-tall talking cat.” I loved how the hat changed or did things depending on the situation, like the air-bag hat, or the periscope hat. That is thinking outside the box, or in this case: the hat.

My only problem/question is: why in the world did Paris Hilton have a cameo???? I didn’t like it then, and I don’t like it now. I understand that she was getting big at the time, but this isn’t the right type of movie for her to just appear in. I think somebody messed up in editing, because there’s a part of that scene that did get cut, which is important for the rest of the movie. What they should have done was keep that snippet they cut, and ditch Hilton. Were they trying to go for edgy? This is supposed to be a family movie for crying out loud!

All in all, not bad, but there are better family movies out there.

This entry was posted in action/adventure, comedy, family, PG and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

