Poltergeist

Released 05/22/2015                              Rated: PG-13

I’ve only seen the original Poltergeist, and I actually just saw it, like, this past Halloween. I didn’t grow up with it at all; that movie would have scared the crap out of me. But to be honest, I liked it better than this one. For me it’s all about the pacing. There is nothing wrong with this film except for that and one other thing that was difficult to sit through in the theater, but I think home-viewing probably won’t be so bad. I’d love it if it weren’t for these two things.

http://www.cosmicbooknews.com/content/watch-poltergeist-2015-trailerThe pacing: it’s awful in my opinion. There is no build-up. The daughter gets taken day two. The big reveal is just thrown out there: “Oh yeah, used to be a cemetery, big whoop, wanna fight about it?” They forget about the mud-pit in the “basement” where the oldest daughter was nearly pulled underground. The paranormal people are able, pretty much in one go, to get the daughter back. It’s a lot less impactful if all of this only happens within about 72 hours of the family moving in. I remember there being more of a struggle, and this stuff happening for days; all of this weird stuff just keeps happening until it finally comes to a head and the family is like: “This is evil, and we need some help.”

The second thing: So, we go through the closet, and get to see this other plane where all these spirits are, except not really because you can barely see anything during these moments. I don’t really understand why there was so much flashing light being thrown around this movie, (I get it, it’s the tv and all the electronics they affect) but it’s really bad when we go through the closet. I had to look away at one point, because I just couldn’t take it anymore. It could have been toned down a little so that the audience could actually see something on screen. There are other ways to make it creepy, and they won’t lose half your audience.

The way I’m describing it makes it sound like this movie as awful, but it really wasn’t. I don’t generally like remakes, but this one was better than most. If I don’t get too nit-picky about it, I enjoyed the ride this film delivered, but I still say the original is better.

This entry was posted in horror, PG-13, thriller and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poltergeist

  1. adrian says:

    Excellent points. You pulled on things that never even struck me.

Leave a Reply

