The Social Network

Released 10/01/2010                              Rated: PG-13

I didn’t really think I was going to like this movie. I’m not big into hopping on bandwagons, and giving in to the hype of something. I’m very resistant to that sort of thing. I’ve never had a MySpace. I didn’t get a Facebook page until after high school. I didn’t even read Harry Potter when everyone around me was losing their shit over these books (but that craze swept me up and now HP is one of my most favorite things ever). People bandwagon films nominated for the upcoming Academy Awards. This past year it was American Sniper, the year before that it was 12 Years, A Slave. I want to experience these movies before the awards have been given out, but I’m extremely lucky if I see half the nominees on the list. Usually the list is full of dramas that hold no interest for me. I can say I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed The Social Network.http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/the-social-network-2010

With the creation of Facebook, and all the trouble that came along with it, The Social Network shows us how two Harvard students and friends started the world’s most popular social site. In the midst of two lawsuits, one against fellow Harvard students, the other against each other, Mark Zuckerberg and Eduardo Saverin recount how things unfolded and what went wrong.

I can’t even really pick out anything specific as to why I liked this movie. Everything, I suppose. They had a great cast; I feel Eisenberg and Garfield did really well. I didn’t feel as if anything was dumbed-down for the less tech-savy people in the audience. The way the story was presented kept my interest. The peek into Zuckerberg’s head in the beginning as he’s simultaneously blogging and hacking into Harvard’s house websites at four in the morning was awesome. All around it was a pretty good movie. If you haven’t seen it, check it out.

This entry was posted in drama, PG-13 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

