The Village

Released 07/30/2004                              Rated: PG-13

I’d always thought this was a horror movie. One with a twist that had been ruined for me early on, but I had no intention of seeing the film at the time, so it didn’t matter. I wish I hadn’t known the twist going in, but what are you going to do? People are jerks. This isn’t a horror movie. It’s more of a drama mixed with suspenseful elements. I’ve heard people disregard this film and talk down about MNS, but honestly, other than his attempt at a “correct representation” of The Last Airbender, he’s a pretty good filmmaker. It’s my opinion that most of the people who hate this film, hate it because they were expecting a horror flick. I enjoyed this www.amazon.commovie.

Other than the big reveal, I had absolutely no clue as to what was going on when I started watching. I was actually more confused because I couldn’t see how it was going to get there. The film had a pretty good setup with a great air of mystery about it. We get to meet a range of different characters: the blind, the silent and strong, the autistic, and the emotionally fearless. We see how this little village thrives, surrounded by the woods. The good and bad colors, the night watch post, the sacrifices, and even the hidden cellars of the wooden houses. The villagers stay out of the woods, and those-they-do-not-speak-of stay out of the village. Yet despite everything they do to keep themselves safe, something isn’t right. When the one she loves falls ill, it’s up to one brave blind girl to venture out to get help. What she learns will test her faith and shake her to her very core.

If you haven’t seen it, give it a try. If you have and you didn’t like it initially, watch it again as a drama. If you just want to see an interesting movie, you’ve got nothing to lose.

This entry was posted in drama, PG-13, thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

