January 2016

I’m going to try something new this year. I have opinions on all the upcoming films, I just either don’t have time to get to them all, or I will never see them. So I’m doing a list of all the mainstream movies for the upcoming month, their (hopefully correct) release dates, and why I am or am not excited about them. Let’s try this.

http://www.traileraddict.com/the-forest-2016/poster01/08 The Forest

(Starring Natalie Dormer) This movie looks freaky. At first I was like, “I’m good,” but the more I see this trailer, the more interested I am. It looks creepy, and freaky, and mysterious. If a movie like this has anything to do with a real place, the better. I like my horror movies to have some substance, so fingers crossed!

http://www.traileraddict.com/the-revenant-2015/poster01/08 The Revanant

(Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy) I watch this trailer, and all I can think is “Oscar movie.” I like the fact that the trailer doesn’t tell you anything; it’s mostly silent. I’m interested, but I’m not. Sometimes it takes a lot of effort for me to go see a drama. But I am really big into the Oscars, so maybe I’ll see it in preparation for that. Hopefully it’ll be DiCaprio’s year to win, because goshdarnit, the man deserves it!

http://www.traileraddict.com/13-hours-the-secret-soldiers-of-benghazi/poster01/15 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

(Starring John Krasinski) This looks like a good movie. Intense, well-made, a true story, and full of both action and drama. I’m not usually big on war movies, but I am kinda interested now. I probably wouldn’t have even seen this trailer had it not been for the making of the this blog post. I might have to check this one out.

http://www.traileraddict.com/ride-along-2/poster01/15 Ride Along 2

(Starring Ice Cube, Kevin Hart) I didn’t see the first one, but this one, I will go see. It looks funny without being stupid, it’s full of good actors, it looks like both a good story and action-packed. I am definitely excited. I’m sick of stupid comedies. Give me one with substance!

http://www.ramascreen.com/bear-to-be-different-in-this-norm-of-the-north-poster/01/15 Norm of the North

(Starring Rob Schneider, Bill Nigh) I am not interested in this one at all. It’s not funny, I don’t care for the animation, it’s not an endearing story, and I am beyond uninterested in the lemmings. I feel like they’re trying to copy the Minions, but hit way left of the mark. If a kid’s movie looks good, I’ll go see it, but this just looks like it panders, so I won’t.

http://hellhorror.com/movies-451/The-Boy.html01/22 The Boy

(Starring Lauren Cohan) I’m teetering on the fence on whether this one is going to be good, or bad, but I’m excited for it! I want it to be good, and creepy, and it looks like it delivers. Who wouldn’t be creeped out in a giant house by yourself with a doll you’re supposed to be babysitting when things begin happening? To quote one of my friends: “I’d be kicking rocks!”

http://www.fandango.com/movie-news/exclusive-debut-the-5th-wave-poster-74973901/22 The 5th Wave

(Starring Chloë Grace Moretz, Liev Schreiber) I’m not overly interested in this one, but I like the story idea. I’m getting a little tired of the YA-book-turned-movie films that have been coming out lately, but I guess that’s where the market is right now. I don’t think this one looks bad, I guess I just want more than I know I’m going to get out of a teen film.

http://www.traileraddict.com/dirty-grandpa/poster01/22 Dirty Grandpa

(Starring Zac Efron, Robert De Niro) First of all, I love that this poster parodies The Graduate. I love all the actors in this film, but I can’t stand these kinds of movies! The trailer makes this seem funny, and I’m considering watching it if it comes on Netflix or something, but I don’t think this is one I’m going to see in theaters, if I decide to see it at all. But who knows? If I do watch it, I’m praying it’s worth it.

http://www.heyuguys.com/action-packed-new-poster-and-trailer-for-kung-fu-panda-3/01/29 Kung Fu Panda 3

(Starring Jack Black, Angelina Jolie) I love the KFP movies! The previous two have been very well-made, so I’m hoping this one keeps in line with the others. They are just the right blend of comedy, action, good storytelling, and message. KFP doesn’t pander to children, it entertains everyone. These films are worth it.

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/457207-the-finest-hours-real-life-rescue-story-starring-chris-pine-gets-a-poster#/slide/101/29 The Finest Hours

(Starring Chris Pine, Eric Bana) This movie looks intense! I’m intrigued, and true-story films don’t always thrill me. I’m interested in the story, it actually happened, it’s a period piece, and it looks well-made. Looks like it’s going to be a nail-biter, too. My first viewing, I could have easily left it alone, but after watching it again, I’m excited!

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 2016

  1. Jessika Ali says:

    They all look good! I haven’t seen those either,please give us updates on how they turn out!! Cheers to u this New Year!! Love u!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Awesome! Looking forward to reading about these flicks!

Leave a Reply

