February 2016

02/05 Hail, Caesar!

http://www.goldposter.com/87561/(Starring Josh Brolin, George Clooney) I absolutely cannot wait for this film to release! It’s been so long since we’ve had an original comedy by the Coen Brothers. I have missed them, and their resulting works of art. This team can do it all, and I am super excited to see them back at it! We’re back at Capitol Pictures in the 1950s, and the studio’s biggest movie star has been abducted off set. The studio has to find him, all the while trying to keep the whole thing out of the papers. This ensemble cast, plus Joel & Ethan Coen, plus old Hollywood, is going to result in a new favorite!

02/05 Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

http://www.denofgeek.us/movies/pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies/250922/pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies-new-trailer-and-poster(Starring Lily James, Matt Smith) I’m a little wary of this one. I find the premise so strange. It’s grown on me a little since first seeing the trailer, but I just can’t picture zombies in a world created by Jane Austen. The movie definitely looks interesting, but I fear I won’t be able to get over this mindset. I hope it’s good, convincing, and not just a teen period piece. I’ll just have to wait and see.

02/12 Deadpool

http://www.foxmovies.com/movies/deadpool(Starring Ryan Reynolds) This movie looks AMAZING! The promotional spots alone are pure gold! Reynolds has been fighting for this movie for so long, so I know he’s going to be phenomenal. Armed with a twisted sense of humor, sarcasm, and many shiny new toys to hunt down the bad guys, Deadpool is out for blood, and he’s not stopping until he gets it. Everyone’s favorite anti-hero is finally coming to the big screen.

02/12 How to be Single

http://www.fashiongonerogue.com/how-be-single-movie-posters-dakota-johnson/(Starring Rebel Wilson, Dakota Johnson) While I love Rebel Wilson, I am beyond not interested for this film. I’m generally not a fan of movies where the goal is to get some, doesn’t matter if the leads are male, or female. It doesn’t help that Dakota Johnson is our main character. Had anyone else gotten the part, I might be somewhat interested, but I don’t have confidence in Johnson’s acting ability. She always looks bored, even for the promotional material. I’m gonna pass.

02/12 Zoolander No. 2

http://www.shockya.com/news/2015/12/02/zoolander-2-gets-a-new-movie-poster/(Starring Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson) I am excited for this movie! I need to rewatch the first one soon. Our heroes are back in this absurd world of high fashion, and I can’t wait to see what they’re going to do next. Popstars are being killed, and each one manages to take a selfie with Derek Zoolander’s famous look on their face before they go. Old faces unite, new ones take the stage, and Zoolander’s brilliant brain are on the case! I’m going to be extremely upset if this movie, for some reason, doesn’t live up to the goldmine of its predecessor.

2/19 Race

http://www.comingsoon.net/movie/race-2016#/slide/1(Starring Stephan James, Jason Sudeikis) A biographical sports-drama of Jesse Owens, and his participation in the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games. I don’t know if it’s because I don’t watch TV, or because I haven’t gone to see any dramas at the theater lately, but I haven’t seen this film advertised much. Sports-dramas don’t always thrill me, but most of them seem to be about football. This one looks really good. I can’t explain why it looks really good, but I definitely want to see it.

02/19 Risen

https://www.amctheatres.com/movies/risen(Starring Joseph Fiennes, Tom Felton) At first, I wasn’t thrilled, but the more I see this trailer, the more I want to go see this film. I like the idea of this story being told from the perspective of a non-believer. Most of what I call “Bible films” focusing on one of Jesus’s stories have been told roughly the same way—centered around Jesus. There’s nothing wrong with that, but I feel like they’re all the same. This one seems to shake things up a bit, and I like new takes on things.

02/19 The Witch

http://horrorpedia.com/2015/11/15/the-witch-2015-new-england-horror-movie-directed-by-robert-eggers-overview/(Starring Anya Taylor-Joy, Ralph Ineson) A Puritan family build a farm on the edge of New England’s wilderness. When their infant child disappears, the begin to suspect their eldest daughter of witchcraft. This movie seems intense and disturbing. I like a good horror film, but this one might be too unnerving for me; the trailer certainly freaks me out. It seems to be a slow descent into madness at the hands of evil living in the nearby woods. Maybe if I’m brave enough.

2/26 Gods of Egypt

http://teaser-trailer.com/gods-of-egypt-movie-poster/(Starring Gerard Butler, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) I see a CGI movie, nothing more. For me, this film is in the same vein as the Transformers franchise, just set in ancient Egypt. I don’t sense much in the line of story, just the visual effects department. While I do like the actors I recognize from the trailers, there are the same number of actors that I don’t recognize, and it’s not making me any more interested. I want more human interaction than CGI.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

