March 2016

03/04 London Has Fallen

http://birthmoviesdeath.com/2016/01/21/americans-invade-in-new-london-has-fallen-poster(Staring Gerard Butler, Morgan Freeman) I didn’t see Olympus Has Fallen, but I, personally, am as uninterested in this one as I was in that one. It’s an action flick; lone hero, save the President, etc. I heard OHF was a good movie, and I’m sure this one will be just as good, but I just don’t have a desire to go see it. No real reason. I don’t think it looks bad. I simply don’t want to.

03/04 The Other Side of the Door

http://www.flickeringmyth.com/2015/11/first-poster-and-trailer-for-the-other-side-of-the-door-starring-sarah-wayne-callies-and-jeremy-sisto.html(Staring Sarah Wayne Callies) I don’t have high hopes for this movie. I don’t see enough story. It appears to only utilize jump-scares. And it really doesn’t seem very original. I mean, they close the trailer on a piano tune the kids were playing; how many times has that been done? If I’m going to go see a horror movie, it needs to have some substance, and I just don’t see that here.

03/04 Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

www.comingsoon.net(Staring Tina Fey, Margot Robbie) This movie looks great. There are so many other Middle Eastern war-time films these days, they almost seem to be taking over. I get that that’s what’s happening in present-day history, but these movies are all starting to look the same. This one looks like it could have some fun. All-star cast, great writing, true events, what more can you ask for? And the fact that it’s titled WTF: priceless. I almost think they can’t go wrong with this one.

03/04 Zootopia

http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/disneys-zootopia/images/39116265/title/zootopia-new-poster-photo(Staring Ginnifer Goodwin, Jason Bateman) This just looks absolutely adorable! I love the concept, the actors, the design, the amount of detail that obviously went into this, and the sloths! If you haven’t seen this specific trailer you have to click on this link for it; it is amazing, and everyone in the theater chuckles so hard at it. I am beyond excited! This movie is going to be amazing.

03/11 10 Cloverfield Lane

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/647849-10-cloverfield-lane-poster-debuts#/slide/1(Staring Mary Elizabeth Winstead, John Goodman) I REALLY liked Cloverfield, minus a good bit of the shaky-cam. So I am very much interested in this movie. I believe it’s supposed to be set parallel to the events of the first movie. I don’t really know what to expect out of this film, I’m just praying it’s good, and if any shaky-cam is used, it’s manageable. Super excited!

03/11 The Brothers Grimsby

www.comingsoon.net(Staring Sacha Baron Cohen, Mark Strong) This looks like a comedy that’s trying to be a serious action flick. I am very much not interested in this one at all. I like SBC, but I’ve never once wanted to see any of his trademark movies, (Borat, Bruno) of which The Brothers Grimsby looks nothing alike, thank goodness. Even the many names attached to this film can’t redeem it for me. I’m going to pass.

03/11 The Young Messiah

www.comingsoon.net(Staring Sean Bean, Adam Greaves-Neal) I don’t know about this one. It looks well-made, but there are some things that I can’t get over. For example: Jesus looks like a girl. His hair is too curly; it doesn’t work. It’s okay, you could have given him short hair; we already know who he is. Making him look that much like his older self isn’t necessary. Another is the fact that when you move in depth into new territory, you take a very big risk with the entire project. In the trailer alone (obviously) I’m seeing Mary’s doubt, Joseph and Mary’s struggles to raise Jesus, Jesus performing very small miracles, soldiers searching for Jesus, as well as what the majority of this film will entail, which is young Jesus struggling with the line between being both the Son of God, and a human child. None of that fits with what I would want from this movie.

03/16 Miracles from Heaven

http://teaser-trailer.com/miracles-from-heaven-movie-trailer/(Staring Jennifer Garner, John Carroll) Christian movies have had a way of sneaking into the movie industry lately. I’ve got no problem with that, but while they have always looked good, they also look like more of a drama (even if it is uplifting) than I want to go see in a theater. But this one looks really good. I don’t know if for me it’s the actors involved, or the story itself, but I want to go see this one. At least they’ve been advertising this movie for a while; normally they just show up out of nowhere, so someone’s getting better at their job.

03/18 Divergent Series: Allegiant

http://www.fashiongonerogue.com/allegiant-movie-posters-shailene-woodley/(Staring Shailene Woodley, Theo James) I have neither read the books, nor seen the other movies. All I can say is that I’m confused watching the trailer, and that the story still doesn’t seem complete, and I would be right. We will have yet another installment coming in 2017. My money is betting this film will be mostly drama and set-up, while the 2017 release of Ascendant will be more action-oriented. So nothing original as far as these YA books-to-movies are going.

03/18 The Little Prince

https://www.reddit.com/r/movies/comments/33d6mb/the_little_prince_official_movie_poster/(Staring Jeff Bridges, Marion Cotillard) This film looks like a gem. A coming-of-age story about not growing up too fast. That imagination and friends are just as important to your growth into adulthood as hard work and studying. A supposedly workaholic, single mom has mapped out every hour of her young daughter’s lift to turn her into a great adult. What she didn’t count on was the old Aviator next door telling her daughter about the Little Prince, and showing her a world beyond books.

03/25 Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

https://www.yahoo.com/movies/see-a-batman-superman-stare-down-in-exclusive-193358123.html(Staring Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill) Honestly, I think they over-marketed this one. I get it, you want this movie to be HUGE, but you don’t need five trailers that basically give away everything in the movie. Jessie Eisenberg as a strange interpretation of Lex Luther is the only reason I’m going to see this movie. That, and my husband is going to drag me. I might be the only person not expecting the most out of this one.

03/25 My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/642939-my-big-fat-greek-wedding-2-poster-is-the-wedding-invite-of-the-year#/slide/1(Staring Nia Vardalos, John Corbett) I never saw the first one, even though I’m sure it was good. This one looks to be in the same vein with the right amount of heart. I really don’t have much to say on this one because I am very much an introvert, and seeing all these older people not minding their own business and sticking their noses into the younger generations’ lives….well, I couldn’t handle it if it was me.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

