April 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies to be released in April.

04/01 Eye in the Sky

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/645269-eye-in-the-sky-poster-features-helen-mirren-eyeing-a-drone(Starring Helen Mirren, Alan Rickman) I absolutely love both Helen Mirren, and Alan Rickman. I will see anything they are in. I’m not always big on war films, but seeing as how it’s a different perspective, I’m interested. The heads of war have just as much pressure on them as those in the field. But in all honesty, if these stars were not involved, I might be passing this one. Story does look well done though.

04/08 Before I Wake

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Before_I_Wake_%282016_film%29(Starring Kate Bosworth, Thomas Jane) I have been looking forward to this movie for a year. I’m hearing rumors it’s been pushed back again, but I’m holding my breath on that. I love scary movies if they’re done right, so my fingers are very much crossed for this one. Cody’s dreams become real when he sleeps, but so do his nightmares. I doubt this will be much of a psychological thriller, but I’m game if it’s well-developed. There’s just something so satisfying about a good horror movie.

04/08 The Boss

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/trailers/634533-the-boss-trailer-poster-melissa-mccarthy-gets-down-to-business(Starring Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Bell) I love Melissa McCarthy, but I’m not getting good vibes from this film. In all honesty, Spy didn’t look that great either, and it was one of the better movies last summer, but I’m still not feeling this one. The slap-stick humor and the stylized fighting between rival Girl Scout troops are not winning me over. Lose that and I might see it, but it’s still if-y. I want Melissa to make more movies, I think she can do it all, but I feel she’s starting to get type-casted a bit.

04/08 Demolition

http://www.treehousecinemagulfbreeze.com/movies-iv/(Starring Jake Gellynhall, Naomi Watts) I am intrigued by this one. Davis is struggling with the loss of his wife, and turns to an unlikely source in his time of desperation. As far as I know, this is a new take on dealing with loss, and I’m very interested to see where it goes. This is going to be a tear-jerker, no question, but I’m up for something different. Gonna have to try this. I want more like this one appears.

04/08 Hardcore Henry

http://teaser-trailer.com/movie/barbershop-3/(Starring Sharlto Copley, Haley Bennet) As awesome as this looks, I don’t think I’ll be able to take it. I can barely watch my husband play a video game where he controls the camera; this is going to be five hundred times that. However, this does look pretty cool. A first-person shooter come to life. This will definitely be something new and exciting. Two thumbs up. If only my eyes weren’t so messed up.

04/15 Barbershop: The Next Cut

http://teaser-trailer.com/movie/barbershop-3/(Starring Ice Cube, Cedric the Entertainer) Never saw the first one, but this looks good. The balance of comedy and drama brings everyone in for a feel-good movie. What I hope for is that the two halves don’t feel disjointed. I’ve seen movies where the comedic story line, and the drama story line are so far apart they almost have nothing to do with each other. But this appears to come off as a more blended story.

04/15 Criminal

http://www.flickeringmyth.com/2016/02/watch-the-first-trailer-for-action-thriller-criminal.html/criminal-poster/(Starring Kevin Costner, Gary Oldman) This could easily go wrong, but it looks like a good movie. The memories of a deceased CIA agent are implanted into an unpredictable convict. The CIA wants answers, but due to his new memories, Stewart has other priorities. I want this to be good, and not half-assed; it’s too easy for a story like this to fall off and become typical. I suddenly realize I’ve been craving a movie like this lately. Fingers are crossed.

04/15 Everybody Wants Some

http://www.slashfilm.com/everybody-wants-some-trailer/(Starring Blake Jenner) I never saw Dazed and Confused, but when my husband saw the trailer he said it looked exactly like D&C. Between the two trailers, I’d rather see this one, but I’m not rushing to the theater for it. It probably has more substance-fueled jokes than I care for, but the rest of it looks like a good movie. I currently have no idea how focused of a target audience this film is for, but I guess there’s only one way to find out.

04/15 The Jungle Book

http://screenrant.com/disney-the-jungle-book-footage-jon-favreau-d23(Starring Ben Kingsley, Bill Murray) The Jungle Book became one of my less favorite Disney Animated Classics as I grew up, but I’d go see this version. This looks epic; I’m not sure how else to describe it. So many great actors, and such good CGI work. My only worry is that some of the actor’s voices will bring me out of the movie; like the trailer wasn’t quite polished before they released it to the public. Hopefully it’ll be better.

04/22 The Huntsman: Winter’s War

the-huntsman-winter-s-war-(Starring Chris Hemsworth, Emily Blunt) Honestly, it can’t be worse than the last one, and if you missed that post click here. I’m interested, but I’m not. I’ve heard confusing things, but I’ve finally figured out it’s a sequel with backstory pre-dating the first film. I like all the well-accomplished actors in it, the fantasy world, and the grittiness of it all, but I fear too much CGI, and an overall bad product. Definitely on the fence here.

04/29 Keanu

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/trailers/649487-keanu-trailer-key-peele-go-gangsta-to-save-a-kitten#/slide/1(Starring Keegan-Michael Key, Jordan Peel) This movie looks amazing! I’m not even joking. I am seeing this in theaters without question. Go watch this trailer. I’ve never seen Key and Peel’s show, only some of their skits, and even less of their other roles, but this looks hysterical. Two suburban guys going gansta to get back a kitten? Hell yeah! We need some original comedies, and if these two are breaking out into film, I will back them 100%.

04/29 Mother’s Day

https://www.cinematerial.com/movies/mothers-day-i4824302(Starring Jennifer Aniston, Kate Hudson) This looks like a cute, heart-felt drama. It seems to be in the same vein as Valentine’s Day and New Year’s Eve with everyone’s story intertwining with everyone else’s, only with a smaller cast to keep track of this time. This movie will undoubtedly make you laugh and pull on your heartstrings all at the same time. I may have go see this one. I’ll see if my mom and sis are interested. Girls’ Night!

04/29 Ratchet & Clank

16987797004_8dcc7c071d_b(Starring James Arnold Taylor, Jim Ward) The trailer is too fourth wall-breaking for me to get a decent read on this movie. I know nothing about the video game it’s based on. It’s a kids’ movie. Looks cute and overly funny. Hopefully it’s one of the better kid’s movies out there, but I’m still thinking I will pass.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

