May 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream titles to be released in May.

05/06 Captain America: Civil War

http://www.cosmicbooknews.com/content/new-captain-america-civil-war-poster(Starring Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr.) I’ve tried to keep from watching too many trailers for this one. I am very excited, and I know it’s going to be amazing. (Almost) everybody finally coming together, AND we get new heroes? I’m totally in! This movie was directed by the same duo as Winter Soldier, and they’re signed on to film the upcoming Avengers two-parter, so I’m even more excited. The only thing it’s missing (beside a couple Avengers) is Joss Whedon’s magic touch, but they get pretty close.

05/13 The Darkness

http://www.campfright.com/the-darkness-poster-keep-your-hands-to-yourself/(Starring Kevin Bacon, Jennifer Morrison) I don’t know about this one. I am getting a little tired of the kid-getting-possessed-and-unleashing-evil horror movies. But more than that, I don’t see the reason I should care about this family from the trailer. This one doesn’t scream “Come see this movie, it’ll be good!” to me. Give me some story to work with. I don’t go to horror movies just for the jump scares. I think I’ll pass.

05/13 Money Monster

http://screenrant.com/angry-birds-trailer-poster-2016/(Starring George Clooney, Julia Roberts) I want to see this one. First of all, love the actors; Clooney and Roberts make a good team. And it’s directed by Jodie Foster. Now I haven’t seen any of her other directorial projects, but I’m willing to start with this one. Second, the story doesn’t seem to be based on true events or anything, which seems to be the norm for this kind of movie. Someone in Hollywood didn’t rely on something else to get a good idea, which is how it should be. I want original stories again. This looks like a thrill ride from a mile away. Checking this one out.

05/20 Angry Birds

http://screenrant.com/angry-birds-trailer-poster-2016/(Starring Jason Sudeikis, Peter Dinklage) I am probably one of the few people who have never played Angry Birds, so I’m sure some elements of the source material is lost on me. The beginning portion of this movie looks good, but once the pigs show up, I’m good. By no means does this look like a bad movie, I’m just not the correct target audience for it. I have a feeling fans of the game, as well as children, will like it though. I just really hope they don’t turn it into a series. It’s okay to only have a stand-alone film, it really is.

05/20 Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising

http://screencrush.com/neighbors-2-new-poster/(Starring Seth Rogan, ChloĆ« Grace Moretz) Out of the few clips I did see from the first film, I definitely wasn’t intrigued enough to watch it, but this one, I may give it a shot. I’m not usually into this kind of comedy, but maybe now that it’s not a bunch of frat boys, and Zac Efron’s character seems to be an actual adult and is on the couple’s side, it may be tolerable. I’m still on guard; there are a bunch of dildos and stupidity in the red band trailer. Around all that, it could be fun?

05/20 Nice Guys

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/trailers/669059-nice-guys-movie-trailer#/slide/2(Starring Russell Crowe, Ryan Gosling) Every time I see this trailer it looks better. I really want this to be a gem. Normally with period pieces I see all the effort gone into making the film look accurate, so much so that the joy in the final product is somewhat lacking, but this film looks very fun. My fingers are crossed for good things. I’m excited for this movie, my husband is super excited for this movie; it’s going to be good.

05/27 Alice Through the Looking Glass

http://lovelyti.com/new-x-men-apocalypse-posters-revealed/(Starring Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp) I want this one to be good, but I fear it’s centered around the Hatter again. I don’t want another Johnny Depp-driven movie. Don’t get me wrong, I love Depp, but it’s okay to have him as a background character. I’ve seen so many varying things regarding this movie, I’m not sure which way it’s going to go, which is what I like in a movie. I’ll have to see.

05/27 X-men: Apocalypse

http://lovelyti.com/new-x-men-apocalypse-posters-revealed/(Starring James MacAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence) I’m kinda on the fence here, but my fingers are crossed. I want to like these X-Men movies, but I’m starting to feel like there’s too much going on in them; they’re spread too thin. I am interested to see the new mutants, but I’m growing a little weary of the superhero films. No one knows how to A) make a good villain, and B) keep him around for more than a single film! It’s exhausting, really.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

