June 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies coming to theaters in June.

06/03 Me Before You

www.imdb.com(Starring Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin) I am so excited for this one! I’ve never read the book, never even heard of it before a few weeks ago. I’m not a sucker for love stories, but this one immediately caught my interest, and I have been dying to see it ever since. I love seeing Emilia Clarke in different roles, I’m a fan of Sam Claflin, I like certain love stories, I love the accents and the countryside. This one is going to be great!

06/03 Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

http://screenrant.com/lonely-island-movie-popstar-2016-poster/(Starring Andy Samberg, Tim Meadows) My only hope for this movie is that they found the balance between crude/obnoxious humor and tasteful humor. I’ve been a fan of certain Lonely Island products, and not so much of others. The trailer actually doesn’t look bad, but they’re not always my cup of tea, so I’m going to be cautious of this one. A lot of people are going to be in this, so it has that. If someone recommends it to me, I’ll try.

06/03 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

https://moviesinthephilippines.com/2016/04/15/more-action-laughs-in-new-trailer-of-teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-2/(Starring Megan Fox, Will Arnet) First of all, it feels like half the trailer is Megan Fox, which I could do without. I’ve got nothing against Megan Fox, but I feel she’s a selling point. As a movie about ninja turtles, there should be more turtles in the trailer. If I gave this franchise a shot, I might like it, but right now I don’t think I can. Michael Bay just screams “explosion movie” at me. The plot looks decent. Don’t know how close it is to the 80’s films, though.

06/10 The Conjuring 2: The Endfield Experiement

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson) I still have yet to see The Conjuring, but it is on our list this Halloween. We have liked the Insidious series, and this movie seems to be in the same vein, only based off of actual events and people. I’m interested, but I am worried it’s mostly going to be jump scares. The trailer to the first movie looked better than the trailer to this movie. My fingers are crossed, but I personally may not know for a while.

06/10 Now You See Me 2

http://www.dvdsreleasedates.com/movies/6765/now-you-see-me-2(Starring Jesse Eisenberg, Dave Franco) My disappointment in the first film continues to loom over all the advertising I see for this one. It looks like more of the same, except if you’ve seen trailer #2, you already know the basic plot and who the antagonist is. I want to be interested, but I know it’s not going to be what I want out of this movie, so I’m just going to skip over this one. However, if I ever do see this film, it will only be for Daniel Radcliffe, but I bet he’s not even in half the movie.

06/10 Warcraft

http://blizzardwatch.com/2016/03/18/new-warcraft-movie-poster-gives-us-glimpse-medivh/(Starring Travis Fimmel, Paula Patton) I tried playing WOW. it just wasn’t my thing. I want more from my games, and I wasn’t willing to work that hard to finally get to more than just another fetch-quest. I’m kind of interested in this movie, but at the same time, if I miss the boat, I’m not going to cry. The make-up/costumes and CGI look amazing. I just hope the story holds up as well as the visuals.

06/17 Central Intelligence

http://www.impawards.com/2016/central_intelligence_ver3.html(Starring Dwayne Johnson, Kevin Hart) This looks like a fun movie. I’m hoping it’s one of those action-comedies that doesn’t take itself too seriously, but still works as an action flick. I think I still have yet to see any of Kevin Hart’s movies. Some of them have looked really good and I just couldn’t get to the theater, or I was like “Pass.” But I’ll probably end up going to see this one.

06/17 Finding Dory

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Ellen DeGeneres, Albert Brooks) Finally!! Everyone’s favorite blue fish has her own movie! This film is going to be awesome! I am so excited; I have been waiting for PIXAR to make this one for a long time. The cast, the art, the story, it’s just going to be a great day at the movies. I’m sure they’re going to recycle some jokes, but if done right, it’s just going to fall into place.

06/24 Free State of Jones

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Matthew McConaughey, Gugu Mbatha-Raw) The trailer looks really good. I may be interested in this one, but most war dramas are difficult for more to get through. I love Matthew McConaughey, especially since he broke free from his Rom-Com type-casting and can legitimately act! If I do go see this, it’ll be for him. The story looks good, and it’s based on a true story; fingers crossed the execution lives up to the expectations created by the trailer.

06/24 Independence Day: Resurgence

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Liam Hemsworth, Jeff Goldblum) I am really not excited for this movie at all. I remember loving the first one, though I will admit I need to watch it again, but I’m just not feeling this one. It’s a summer blockbuster, end of the world, CGI film, but I could honestly not see this movie and probably be okay in life. I love that Jeff Goldblum and most of the previous cast are back, I hate that Hollywood can’t be bothered to create something original, but what are you going to do?

www.comingsoon.net06/29 The Shallows

(Starring Blake Lively) All I can think of is Jaws, but maybe a more focused version of Jaws as this deals with one girl stranded in the ocean vs a town plagued by a shark. It looks like a decent movie, but I’m kind of over the whole “shark as the villain” bit. It’s been done. A lot. I don’t see me going to the theaters for this one; maybe if it comes on Netflix.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

