July 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies to be released in July.

07/01 The BFG

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Mark Rylance, Ruby Barnhill) I am actually not familiar with the story of the Big Friendly Giant, so this is all brand new to me. This looks like a good family movie, full of wonder and excitement, magic and love. I feel it’s been a while since we had a good live-action family film, and I’m excited to see where this one goes. I don’t recognize any names attached, other than Spielberg and Disney, but there’s nothing wrong with that!

07/01 The Legend of Tarzan

www.flickeringmyth.com(Starring Alexander Skarsgard, Christoph Waltz) Going to be honest here, I can’t say I’m interested in this one. I’m very confused as far as the story goes, but to be fair, my only interaction with Tarzan is the 1999 Disney film. The scenery looks gorgeous, the cast is great, and it’ll definitely be action-packed. Who knows? Maybe I’ll love it. Maybe it’ll just be another blockbuster. There’s only one way to find out.

07/01 The Purge: Election Year

www.blackfilm.com(Starring Elizabeth Mitchell, Frank Grillo) I haven’t seen any of the Purge series. I’m not the biggest fan of super violent horror movies; they’re just not my thing. I like my horror movies to have more story, intrigue, and development. But I have heard that the second installment was better than the first, and Election Year is a direct sequel. I think I’m going to get talked into seeing it. We’ll see how that goes.

07/08 Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates

screenrant.com(Starring Zack Efron, Aubrey Plaza) At first, I really wanted to see this. But with the release of the red-band trailer, I’m thinking no. Urgh! I want to like this movie! I just know it’s going to go further than I want it to, and I’m really bummed about it. I’m just going to have to take a chance and try it. The green-band trailer looks hysterical, but I’m really hoping all of the raunch in this film is in the red-band trailer, and that’s why I’m not jiving with it. My fingers are crossed, because I really want a good comedy.

07/08 The Secret Life of Pets

screenrant.com(Starring Louis C. K., Jenny Slate) I think this one will be a good kid’s movie, but I’m probably the only girl on the planet who isn’t all that excited. I liked the first trailer, with the various pets alone at home, (that head- banging poodle is the best!) but the more the other trailers went into the plot, the more I lost interest. I couldn’t tell you why I don’t want to see it; I certainly don’t think it looks bad. I’m just going to pass.

07/15 Cafe Society

www.vulture.com(Starring Steve Carell, Jesse Eisenberg) I have yet to see a Woody Allen movie, which sucks because I’ve wanted to see a couple of them. I feel like I would like his movies, but they’re so hard to find in theaters; I think that’s my problem. Set in the 1930s, a young man goes to Hollywood and falls in love with his uncle’s secretary. On paper it doesn’t sound like much, but watch the trailer. You may like it.

07/15 Ghostbusters

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig) First off, LOVE the new theme music! I very much want this to be good, but haven’t heard great things. It looks amazing, as far as graphics go. I am glad that it won’t be just a remake of the original film; that’s the one thing I was worried about the most. I think these ladies will kick ass, and I can’t wait to see them on screen. My hopes are for a decent product.

07/22 Ice Age: Collision Course

www.foxmovies.com(Starring Ray Romano, John Leguizamo) I don’t know if it’s just because they’ve been seemingly promoting this movie for way longer than necessary, or if I’m just over Scrat, but I’m just glad I won’t have to watch this trailer again. The first one is the only one I’ve seen, and I really liked it, but I just haven’t really gotten into the others. I would like to give them a shot, but none of them are on Netflix, and I don’t have cable, and Blockbuster is gone 😦 . But the Ice Age series has been pretty good for kids.

07/22 Lights Out

www.tribute.ca(Starring Teresa Palmer, Gabriel Bateman) This movie looks freaky. I haven’t heard anything on this one, so this was me watching the trailer for the first time. I want to see it, but I know it’s going to scare the pants off me! I really hope it’s good; I’m so tired of all these second-rate horror films. I worry that the second trailer gave away too much information, but that trailer is also what makes me want to see it, whereas before I was a little wary. I want a good horror movie!

07/22 Star Trek Beyond

www.comingsoon.net(Starring Chris Pine, Simon Pegg) Having very much enjoyed the last two installments, I’m excited for the new Star Trek movie. It looks incredible, the actors have done such a good job, and each film is amazing. I didn’t grow up a Trekkie, my husband got me into it, but I like where the series has been going. Sure, it’s not the classic Star Trek, but there’s nothing wrong with a little innovation. I have heard that this one is supposed to be more true to the source material, though.

07/29 Bad Moms

www.eonline.com(Starring Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell) This looks border-line not my kind of humor, but it could be good. I like the story: these moms are fed up with all the rules set in place for being a good parent, so they throw the rules out the window. The trailer doesn’t really give anything more than that, but I’m hoping it’s got its heartwarming moments as well as its comedy. I may see it, currently not sure though.

07/29 Jason Bourne

pop.inquirer.net(Starring Matt Damon, Julia Styles) I hate to say it, but I feel this movie is just more of the same. As much as I like the Bourne movies (the original trilogy), they’re kinda formulated; they all hit the same beats. There’s a car chase, crazy hand to hand fights, guns, a back and forth with the CIA, etc. I want to continue the story, but I ,personally, don’t need another one. The meat of the story gets lost in all the show. Maybe that’s why I can’t keep a grasp on the actual story line.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

