Ghostbusters (2016)

Released 07/15/2016                              Rated: PG-13

At first I was worried that it was just going to be a remake of the original. Nope, not a rehash. Then I was worried that it was going to be over-the-top, resulting in a film that was trying too hard to be funny without actually achieving its goal. Not at all. This movie hit the bulls-eye perfectly! It’s a lot of fun, and it’s my movie of the summer. I’ve already seen it twice, and there’s a strong possibility I’m going to see it again in theaters.

There are a lot of nay-sayers out there, but I believe this movie works. The characters go well together. They’re not trying to be the old characters.  The references and cameos alone are worth seeing this movie. I feel they did a great job of working both into the film naturally, instead of screaming “Hey GB fans! It’s that thing/person from the first movie! Wink wink!” The jokes weren’t over the top, neither was any of the physical comedy; very appreciative of that. The plot worked; I didn’t feel it was a stretch, or too simple. The graphics were gorgeous; we are a long way from puppets and 80’s CGI. The 3D was actually www.comingsoon.networth it, and I couldn’t tell you the last film I said that about. I loved everyone in this movie, but Chris Hemsworth stole the show for me. He was perfect! It doesn’t mar the original; I can’t stress that enough. This movie is its own, and it deserves to be recognized as such.

If you’re uninterested because you think the trailers don’t look good, that’s fine. As I’ve previously stated, I was on the fence about it for a long time. The trailers use certain jokes that, when taken out of context, seem forced. But I promise it’s worth it. I was afraid Patty’s character was going to be loud and obnoxious; I found her refreshingly refined. And I was worried Holtzmann was supposed to be the blatantly sexy one; you have no idea how relieved I was when that turned out not to be the case. My husband shared these thoughts, and was very confused when I came home and immediately said that this movie was amazing and that he needed to go see it. Granted, it took him until the second half of the movie to really start to enjoy it, but he came around. There were even some jokes that really tickled him. I’m talking laughing out loud on the drive home.

I’m so sick of people asking why we need a female Ghostbusters team. Why NOT have a female GB team? It shouldn’t matter that our team is made up of only women. I bet you even if it had been an all male cast, people still wouldn’t have been happy with it, and constantly comparing it to the original, so why not just suck it up and see was these women can do? And let me tell you, these ladies kicked some apparition ass! I can’t wait to see them again.

Honestly, it’s going to boil down to the viewer him/herself. Either you’re going to like it, or you’re not. I happened to love it. I think everyone should go see it, and not worry about what you’ve heard. You won’t know how good or bad something is until you see it and form an opinion for yourself.

This entry was posted in comedy, fantasy, PG-13, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

