August 2016

A hopefully complete list of mainstream movies coming out in August.

08/05 Nine Lives

www.traileraddict.com(Starring: Kevin Spacey, Jennifer Garner) My initial reaction to this: Really? They made movies like this in the 90s, right? Why now? Despite the fact that CGI has vastly improved since then, it still looks obvious. Despite the actors attached (and who doesn’t love Christopher Walken as a magical wizard bringing families closer together?) I’m going to have to pass. I’m sure it’ll be great for children, but it’s not one I’m going to see.

08/05 Suicide Squad

www.hollywoodreporter.com(Starring: Will Smith, Margot Robbie) I am pumped for this movie. Supposedly they underwent some reshoots after Batman V Superman received negative reviews from audiences, realizing Suicide Squad was also a bit grim, but my fingers are crossed for a good movie. They already sold me with trailer #2 playing out to the song of Bohemian Rhapsody. I don’t know much about DC’s line of superheroes/villains, but I’m hoping to start.

08/12 Florence Foster Jenkins

www.flickeringmyth.com(Starring: Meryl Streep, Hugh Grant) I love Meryl Streep, and I think she’s going to be a gem in this film. She was great in Julie & Julia, and I think her role here will be very similar; she just exudes a genuine charm. I just get so much joy from watching her. I don’t know anything in regards to the true story this is based on, but I might be inclined to research it. Definitely going to be worth it.

08/12 Pete’s Dragon

screenrant.com(Starring: Bryce Dallas Howard, Karl Urban) I grew up on the 1977 musical, so I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this remake. However, I have heard reports that this movie is amazing. And why wouldn’t it be? It’s Disney. I’m going to have to watch it and see for myself, but I don’t think it’ll be high on my priority list. Disney keeps updating all their old movies, and while I dig that, I would also like some fresh material. But thumbs up to them for going for something as obscure as Pete’s Dragon.

08/12 Sausage Party

www.impawards.com(Starring: Seth Rogan, Kristen Wiig) O.M.G. I can’t even watch this trailer again, let along sitting through a 90 minute film. It’s just so hard to watch. It’s…clever, but you’ll never look at food the same way again. Created by, and starring the same group responsible for This Is the End and Pineapple Express, it’s a film for a niche market. Definitely not for me.

08/19 Ben-Hur

screenrant.com(Starring: Jack Huston, Morgan Freeman) I must admit, I’m unfamiliar with the story of Ben-Hur. I certainly didn’t think it was  a Christian tale. All I know attached to the name is the chariot race. This movie actually looks pretty good. After watching trailer #2, I really want to see it. It has a Prince of Egypt vibe about it, even before Jesus appeared on screen. I missed my other Christian movies this year, maybe I’ll make it to this one.

08/19 Kubo and the Two Strings

www.comingsoon.net(Starring: Charlize Theron, Ralph Fiennes) You really need to watch every trailer released to be able to begin to get a story for this one. After watching the third trailer, I finally think I want to see this. An epic adventure, coming of age tale that is sure to be amazing. I like strange movies, and this definitely seems to be one of them. There are so many names attached to this, too. Can’t wait!

08/19 War Dogs

www.comingsoon.net(Starring: Jonah Hill, Miles Teller) This will probably be a good movie. Another one based on a true story. This time dealing with guns and ammo. I’m not sure what exactly I find intriguing about this, but I could see myself going to see it. I’m not going to run to the theaters for it, but if I had nothing better to do, I’d choose this one.

08/26 Don’t Breathe

http://www.goldposter.com/129958/(Starring: Jane Levy, Stephen Lang) This looks like a crazy movie. Three kids needing cash to get out of town plan to rob a blind man supposedly sitting on 3K in his house. But the raid goes bust, and the remaining duo try to find a way out with their lives. I may check this one out; it looks like it could be good. Definitely a strange premise. Hopefully worth it.

08/26 Mechanic: Resurrection

http://www.mechanic-resurrection.com/(Starring: Jason Statham, Jessica Alba) I don’t recall seeing anything about the first movie way back when, but I’d go see this one. Looks like a lot of action, and a bunch of shiny toys, and creative ways to kill people. I can’t say I’ve ever seen a movie Statham has starred in, but a few of them have caught my eye. Maybe it’ll finally happen.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

