September 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies to be released in September.

09/02 The Light Between Oceans

https://teaser-trailer.com/movie/the-light-between-oceans/(Starring Michael Fassbender, Emily Blunt) This looks like it’s going to be an emotional roller coaster; a good one, but a coaster nonetheless. I generally don’t go see dramas in the theater because you need to prepare yourself for it going in, and I can never make myself do it. But I love all the actors in this, so I may have to make an exception. Family, love, loss, happiness, and doing the right thing. This one will definitely pull at your heartstrings.

09/02 Morgan

http://www.impawards.com/2016/morgan.html(Starring Kate Mara, Anya Taylor-Joy) I’m doing my best to stay away from too much information on this movie. I like, not necessarily walking into a movie blind, but definitely not getting all the spoilers beforehand. I know enough of the story to be interested, and if I can keep it at that, I’ll be happy. I really want a good sci-fi thriller, and I hope this is it. Morgan is some sort of lab product, and Kate Mara’s character has been sent to evaluate and destroy if necessary. Fingers are crossed.

09/09 Sully

http://greenlanestar.com/greenlanestar.com/green-lane11/Sully%20Movie%20Poster%2018''%20X%2028''.jpg(Starring Tom Hanks, Aaron Eckhart) I don’t recall hearing about the actual events this film is based on, but when I looked it up and saw it was in 2009, that fact no longer surprised me. I was a very self-contained college student at the time, so this wouldn’t have hit my radar. I love Tom Hanks, and I think Clint Eastwood does an amazing job as a director. I have no doubt that this is going to be a great film.

09/09 When the Bough Breaks

http://www.impawards.com/2016/when_the_bough_breaks_ver2.html(Starring Morris Chestnut, Regina Hall) I’m so over these kinds of movies. We already have so many of them! A marriage disrupted by a fling with a crazy/psychotic co-worker (Obsessed), neighbor (The Boy Next Door), guy from the bar (The Perfect Man), and now surrogate mother. I, personally, do not find these movies entertaining. I’m sure they’re great if you’re looking for a steamy thriller though.

09/09 The Wild Life

http://www.traileraddict.com/the-wild-life-2016/poster/1(Starring Matthias Schweigh√∂fer, Kaya Yanar) Originally titled Robinson Crusoe, this movie actually seems to focus more on the animals of the island on which Crusoe lands, not so much the legend himself, hence the name change. It will be great for the kids, but I have no desire to make the trip to the theater myself. It will probably do its best to have jokes for both generations going to see it, but it’s not enough to pull my interest.

09/16 Blair Witch

https://www.reddit.com/r/movies/comments/4u8k7o/new_poster_for_blair_witch_2016_sequel_to_the/(Starring James Allen McCune, Corbin Reid) I never saw the original, to which this upcoming film is a direct sequel. I am starting to get a little burned out of the found-footage films. As cool of a concept and a technique as it is, it’s a little hard to immerse yourself into the story when you’re watching it going, “Really? That’s how you explain how the camera got there so you could get that shot?” Even the trailer takes me out of it for this movie. Maybe it’s just because I haven’t seen the original, I don’t know.

09/16 Bridget Jones’s Baby

http://diymag.com/2016/07/29/see-the-new-trailer-and-poster-for-bridget-joness-baby(Starring Rene Zellweger, Colin Firth) Hopefully this one will be a lot better than the last Bridget Jones movie. All this back and forth between romantic interests is exhausting! At the end of the first movie, she started a relationship. At the end of the second movie, she became engaged. Both of which involved Mr. Darcey!! And now she’s on her own again, and having a baby with one of two possible fathers. Though it does look cute, I may just wait until it pops up on Netflix to see it. Forgive me, Miss Jones, if I take a step back from your chaotic love life.

09/16 Snowden

http://www.shockya.com/news/2016/04/28/snowden-gets-a-new-movie-poster/(Starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Shailene Woodley) At first I wasn’t all that interested, but now that I’m watching the trailer again, I am. I don’t usually find government movies interesting unless they’re very fictitious (science-fiction-level fictitious), but this one looks promising. I’m a huge fan of Gordon-Levitt; the man is an amazing actor. I haven’t seen much of Woodley, but I want to like her more. Some other big actors are also in here, so I may have to make a strong case for this one.

09/23 The Magnificent Seven

https://teaser-trailer.com/the-magnificent-seven-movie-poster/(Starring Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt) It’s amazing how a little bit of research can increase your interest in something. This is a remake of a 1960’s film of the same name, which in turn was a Western adaptation of a Japanese classic Seven Samurai. Today’s westerns hold my interest ten times more than the classic ones do, so I am all for this movie. Plus you can’t go wrong with Denzel Washington, and Chris Pratt has just come out of nowhere with these actions movies. It looks amazing!

09/23 Queen of Katwe

https://teaser-trailer.com/the-magnificent-seven-movie-poster/(Starring Lupita Nyong’o, David Oyelowo) This film looks promising. A young woman from Uganda dreams of doing more with her life, and ends up becoming a chess champion. Up until researching for this post, I’d seen the poster, but no other advertisements. I had no idea what it was about, but I’m glad I found and watched the trailer. I’m actually disappointed I haven’t see this advertised somewhere. This looks like it could be something special.

09/23 Storks

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Storks_(film)(Starring Kelsey Grammer, Andy Samberg) This movie looks absolutely adorable!! I haven’t been this excited for a non-Disney kids movie in…I honestly couldn’t tell you how long; it’s definitely been over a year. I can’t even specifically point out what it is about this one that makes it stand out to me. The entirety of both trailers tickles me so much. Kelsey Grammer, Andy Samberg, Key and Peele, Jennifer Aniston, and others. It’s going to be great. I cannot wait!

09/30 Deep Water Horizon

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/deepwater-horizon-poster_us_56f16b4fe4b03a640a6bbf4e(Starring Mark Wahlberg, Dylan O’Brien) I hadn’t heard anything on this movie, and I was surprised to find out it is about the 2010 BP oil spill. Wow, this movie looks good. I don’t know if it’s just the way the teaser trailer was set up (btw I rolled my eyes when I saw that the teaser was 2:15 minutes long, usually teasers are maybe 1:00), but I’m actually really excited for this one. And it’s coming out in IMAX, so go see it its first week out if you want that experience. Who knows how long until the next IMAX film comes and boots it down to only regular screens.

09/30 Masterminds

http://www.impawards.com/2016/masterminds_ver6_xlg.html(Starring Kristen Wiig, Zach Galifinakis) LOL! I want to like this movie, but I’m afraid the actual feature isn’t going to be as funny as the trailer makes it seem. But with these kinds of movies, you know what you’re getting into. My fingers are crossed that it is simply better than some of the other similar comedies I’ve seen in the past, because I haven’t cared for those at all. I guess we’ll just have to see.

09/30 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

http://www.fatmovieguy.com/miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-trailer/(Starring Asa Butterfield, Samuel L. Jackson) I haven’t heard of these books, but apparently fans of the series are worried about this adaptation. I, however, think this looks amazing. Tim Burton at, what I think, is his best. It’s simple but weird, dark yet hopeful, and all around magical. I am very excited to see this one. From the moment I saw the trailer months ago, I was hooked. No more waiting!

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

