Charlie’s Angels

Charlie’s Angels
Released 11/03/2000                              Rated: PG-13

I want to like these movies more than I do. I think the reason why I don’t is because it’s too quick. The first film especially leaves me going “huh?” Not that I’m confused, I understand the story, it’s just that I’m a little lost as to how we arrived at the ending. The angels connect the dots so quickly and with so little information that it’s crazy. And not to http://www.impawards.com/2000/charlies_angels.htmlmention there are so many twists and turns that I’m not quite allowed to process before the next one shows up and the plot whisks off in another direction! If I could just learn the other characters’ names, I think I’d be better. But everything happens so rapidly that I have no idea who the angels are talking about half the time. I almost feel like I need a chart to follow along with the movie.

I love the comedy integrated into these films; it really doesn’t take away from the fact that they are action movies. Everything flows together and it feels natural, even if the fight scenes are over the top. For example, Dylan and Alex take the time while they’re on a mission to coach Natalie on how to get a date out of the bartender who’s showing interest in her. “Flip your hair.” / “What?” / “Flip…your goddamn hair.” This movie isn’t supposed to be taken seriously like James Bond or Mission Impossible, it’s supposed to be fun.

Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle
Released 06/27/2003                              Rated: PG-13

I did enjoy Full Throttle a lot more. It was less sporadic, a bit more serious, yet still playful. It feels like this movie actually tried to go somewhere, other than just being a run of the mill summer blockbuster. Upon realizing that both her true identity and psychotic ex has been released, Dylan leaves the angels in an attempt to protect the only family she http://www.impawards.com/2003/charlies_angels_full_throttle_ver1.htmlhas. And we also have a former angel make an appearance, scratching the surface that this job doesn’t sit well with everyone who takes it. That might actually be the most intriguing part for me: Madison. Demi Moore did an amazing job as the fallen angel who holds a grudge against Charlie.

Included in both movies are a lot of booty shorts and hair flips, both of which I feel could have been scaled back a smidge. I get that they’re going for the sex appeal, but it still would have worked with just a little less. I’d rather not feel as if it’s being thrown in my face. And once the credits start rolling, the gag reel plays, and who doesn’t love a gag reel? Everyone working on these movies looks like they had such a blast doing so, and really, there’s no better way to make a movie.

This entry was posted in action/adventure, comedy, PG-13 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

