October 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies to be released in October.

10/07 The Birth of a Nation

http://www.impawards.com/2016/birth_of_a_nation.html(Starring Nate Parker, Armie Hammer) This looks like a pretty good movie. It’s even directed by the lead protagonist, which always blows my mind. It’s about a literate slave and preacher who orchestrates an uprising in the antebellum South. As I’ve said before, I don’t really go see dramas in the theater because it just takes too much emotional effort, but if you like those movies, this one looks like it’ll be good.

10/07 Friend Request

http://www.flicks.co.nz/movie/friend-request/poster/(Starring Alycia Debnam-Carey, William Moseley) I find it silly that we’re now using social media as a premise for horror films. We’ve used Skype (Unfriended), and now Facebook. What will they use next year? Instagram? The believability of this story is stretched too thin for me to take it seriously. If it doesn’t feel like it could on some level be real, then it loses its scare. Magic in the source code? Really?

10/07 The Girl on the Train

http://www.impawards.com/2016/girl_on_the_train.html(Starring Emily Blunt, Haley Bennett) I didn’t get into the hype that was Gone Girl, book or film, and this movie feels like it’s in the same vein. But I would go see this movie. It looks intense. I can’t even think of the last thriller that I got excited for. This looks like it’s going to be one of those edge-of-your-seat type movies. And I love Emily Blunt; I think she’s amazing, and can do absolutely anything.

10/14 The Accountant

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/690039-accountant-poster#/slide/1(Starring Ben Affleck, Anna Kendrick) I’m even more excited about this action thriller. It looks like it’s going to be amazing. Love all the actors, the premise, and the style. Christian Wolff (Affleck) is a forensic accountant, uncooking the books for various criminal organizations. But a Treasury agent is tracking him down as the body count rises. Super excited. Can’t wait. It’s going to be good.

10/14 Kevin Hart: What Now?

http://www.impawards.com/2016/kevin_hart_what_now.html(Starring Kevin Hart) As far as I know, Kevin Hart is the only comedian who consistently turns his stand up concerts into movies. He’s done this I want to say at least twice already. The majority of it is his stand up, but it looks like he threw some acting in there as well. I still have yet to see any of his films or comedy, and I’m starting to feel like I’m missing out. This looks like it’s going to be hilarious. Definitely go check it out.

10/21 Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

http://www.impawards.com/2016/jack_reacher_never_go_back_ver2.html(Starring Tom Cruise, Cobie Smulders) I did not see the first film. Even though everybody liked it, I just wrote it off as another action flick, and didn’t really care. This one, however, looks great. The pairing of Cruise and Smulders looks like it’s going to be epic. I think Smulders makes a badass agent, and I can’t wait to see her in more. Probably going to have to hunt down the first movie just to get a taste of the kind of ride I’m in for here.

10/21 Keeping Up with the Joneses

https://teaser-trailer.com/keeping-up-with-the-joneses-movie-poster/(Starring Zach Galifianakis, Isla Fisher) I want this to be a good action comedy, but I’m worried. I’m hoping that it’s likeĀ Date Night where I didn’t care for the trailer at all, but then LOVED the actual movie. My fingers are crossed so hard for that. I know the cast will be amazing; it’s the execution of the comedy and how it blends with the action that has me a little antsy. There’s only one way to find out.

10/21 Ouija: Origin of Evil

http://www.impawards.com/2016/ouija_two.html(Starring Doug Jones, Elizabeth Reaser) Okay. Even if a horror movie looks bad to me, I still get sucked into the world the trailer creates. This is the first trailer ever where I have not been immersed into the story. It doesn’t look scary or even inventive; this looks like garbage. I can’t get into it at all, even before it looks like nothing but bad CGI. This looks like something that would come out in February, which is when most bad horror movies are released.

10/21 Tyler Perry’s Boo! A Madea Halloween

http://www.impawards.com/2016/boo_a_madea_halloween_ver2.html(Starring Tyler Perry, Bella Thorne) I was hoping this movie would look better. I’ve only ever seen one Madea film, and it was half serious drama with one set of actors, half comedy with Tyler Perry portraying everyone. This trailer seems a bit all over the place, but so far it seems to mainly focus of Madea. I’m going to guess that it has a lot of references to classic horror films, which is what I want, but the trailer isn’t doing a good job of selling it to me.

10/28 Inferno

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/766807-new-inferno-poster-brings-back-tom-hanks-as-robert-langdon(Starring Tom Hanks, Felicity Jones) I have yet to read Inferno, but I have read the other three of Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon series. Hollywood has disrupted the order of the series, not that they’re serialized, but still, to know that is annoying. So far the films haven’t been that great compared to their books, and if you’ve ever picked one up, you’ll understand why. They’re so full of detail, it’s nearly impossible to make a movie out of it, and not feel like something is missing. This just makes me want to read the book.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 2016

  1. Angela M. Spires says:

    The Birth of a Nation looks like the best movie on the list .
    When ever I’m asked “What movie do you want to see ?”
    I now have an answer after reading your description of these movies.

Leave a Reply

