Deepwater Horizon

Released 09/30/2016                              Rated: PG-13

When I wanted to go see this movie, I really had no idea. I just thought it looked good, and I wanted to make sure I caught it on the big screen. I love seeing movies in the theater, because it immerses you ten times better than at home, or with a bunch of friends who all happen to have short attention spans. When I watch a film, I am in it for the long haul; don’t bother me. So like I said, I found myself unprepared for the level of intensity of this movie. I’m talking, I needed to reach over and hold my husband’s hand, and usually that’s just something cute we do.

If you don’t know, Deepwater Horizon is the name of the oil rig that essentially exploded in 2010, causing the worst oil disaster in history. Most people probably remember that time as either being in a gas crisis, or the amount of wildlife affected, which ranged from “clean up the beaches,” to “don’t eat the shrimp.” The oil spill http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/deepwater-horizon-poster_us_56f16b4fe4b03a640a6bbf4elasted from April 20th – July 15th, spilling around 4.9 million barrels into the Gulf of Mexico. I was actually surprised they used BP’s name and logo in the movie. For some reason I thought they would have stirred clear of the branding, but I’m glad they didn’t.

One word I never thought I’d use to describe this film: beautiful. The cinematography is amazing! And that had to be difficult to do. How in the world do you make a disaster movie look beautiful? Especially one located on an oil rig! I don’t truly know how to describe it, but there were shots that were artistically on point that stuck with me after the credits began. This movie could have ended up looking like shitty CGI, but it didn’t, and I am very grateful for that. I have no idea how much CGI they actually did use, because it all looked pretty freakin’ real to me!

The sheer intensity of the oil breaking free is unlike anything I think I’ve ever experienced in my life. There was a moment where I thought to myself: “I’m not sure I can take much more of this.” (And I sat through the Evil Dead remake. That was brutal.) Just the pure force with which the oil shot out of the pipe and through the rig is mind-boggling to me. Mark Wahlberg’s character even says in the beginning that they don’t pump the oil; it wants to come out of the ground. Witnessing (even if it wasn’t real) that much raw power is a completely different experience. I mean, think about it, the actual rig burned for two days until it sank, and it took two and a half months before they could cap the well. That most definitely is a force of nature right there.

Go see this movie. It’s fantastic! The oil is as much a character as the rest of the cast. Which means they did it right.

This entry was posted in action, drama, PG-13, thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deepwater Horizon

  1. Angela M. Spires says:

    I love the way you explain this movie in such detail .
    I am looking forward to seeing this movie !

Leave a Reply

