December 2016

A (hopefully) complete list of mainstream movies to be released in December.

12/02 Jackie

https://teaser-trailer.com/movie/jackie/(Starring Natalie Portman, Peter Sarsgaard) I’m still not one for dramas, but this looks like it’s going to be really good. I can still smell the Oscar buzz on this one, but it appears as though it’s going to deserve it, so my reaction isn’t an eye-roll like it usually is when I say that. It just blows my mind how spot-on Natalie Portman’s portrayal is. My guess is people will flock to the theater for this film once they realize it’s out.

12/09 Nocturnal Animals

http://picclick.com.au/NOCTURNAL-ANIMALS-One-Sheet-Movie-Poster-Amy-Adams-192038169996.html(Starring Amy Adams, Jake Gyllenhaal) This one looks absolutely intense. I’m intrigued, no question about it. And the trailer just leaves you wanting more without giving anything away, which is what a trailer is supposed to do! I feel like there hasn’t been a good thriller in a while. I just have no idea when I’m going to find time to see all these movies.

12/09 Office Christmas Party

http://www.movieinsider.com/m9805/office-xmas-party(Starring TJ Miller, Jennifer Aniston) Not many holiday-themed films this year. I’m not sure how I feel about it. It’s probably not my kind of comedy, but it could be good. Dry humor doesn’t strike me as funny most of the time, but I think a lot of people will like it. A wacky comedy to off-set all the drama and action movies coming out this month.

12/16 Collateral Beauty

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/775983-will-smith-collateral-beauty-poster(Starring Will Smith, Helen Mirren) This film looks absolutely amazing! I cannot wait. Somehow I always end up missing Will Smith’s dramas, but I am making it a point to go see this one this year. I love all the names attached, the story, the concept, the symbolism, all of it! This movie is going to make me cry; I can already tell.

12/16 La La Land

http://www.hollywood-elsewhere.com/2016/11/new-rave-minded-la-la-land-poster/(Starring Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling) This film is going to be an experience. I’ve only seen 500 Days of Summer once, but I imagine it’s going to be in the same vein as that one, maybe a little more artistic. I love Emma Stone, I think she can do just about anything, and Ryan Gosling is great. It’s crazy that they’re paired up again. Definitely going to have to see what’s up with this one.

12/16 The Space Between Us

http://www.impawards.com/2016/space_between_us.html(Starring Asa Butterfield, Gary Oldman) I have seen this trailer way too much, but I still want to see this movie. It’s definitely an interesting story. A sweet love story mixed with just enough (I don’t want to say science-fiction, but…) to make it unique. Asa Butterfield is a great up-and-coming star, and Gary Oldman is always amazing. Definitely up my alley.

12/16 Star Wars: Rogue One

http://www.starwars.com/news/rogue-one-posters(Starring Felicity Jones, Mads Mikkelson) I have not given into the hype that is these new Star Wars films. My husband thinks I’m insane, but I think it helps me not to go in expecting the best movie ever, and then come out disappointed. The more I see on it, the more excited I’m becoming, but three months ago I was like “I don’t know ANY of these characters, therefore am unable to get super excited because I don’t know what the [bleep] I’m seeing!” But I know it’s going to be great!

12/21 Assassin’s Creed

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/688227-new-assassins-creed-movie-poster-stands-tall(Starring Michael Fassbender, Marion Cotillard) I started to play one of theĀ Assassin’s Creed games once upon a time, but couldn’t really get into the game mechanics, so I stopped. However, I do understand the trailer because of what little I played. This year is just full of awesome-looking releases. Most video game-based films don’t quite translate well, but if any of them are going to succeed, it has to be this one. I can’t wait; it’s going to be amazing, and I am totally down!

12/21 Passengers

https://twitter.com/antovolk/status/772092908547833858(Starring Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence) This one is also going to be a great blockbuster. Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence, spaceships, impending doom… what else do you need? I feel the trailer gives us just enough without spoiling the movie (at least I’m pretty sure it does). We know the basics without too many details. No matter what, this movie is going to look gorgeous.

12/21 Sing

http://www.traileraddict.com/sing-2016/poster/1(Starring Matthew McConaughey, Taron Egerton) This film looks awesome. I love animated movies that strive to be more than just kids’ movies. This genuinely looks like a good movie. There are a TON of names involved, the animation is great, and I can already feel the heart just from the trailers. I am definitely checking this one out. It’s going to be the biggest family film of the season.

12/23 Why Him?

http://www.impawards.com/2016/why_him.html(Starring Bryan Cranston, James Franco) Okay, first trailer, I was like, “maybe…,” but second trailer, “I’m good.” Nope. The R rating in this case is a floodgate allowing for over-the-top crude humor. If you’re into those kind of movies, this is definitely up your alley, but I just can’t do it. I don’t need my comedies to be squeaky clean, but if they reigned this one in a bit, I’d go see it. Maybe not in the theater, though. Maybe wait till Netflix or something.

This entry was posted in upcoming releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

