When in Rome

Released 01/29/2010                              Rated: PG-13

If I had rewatched the trailer beforehand, I probably wouldn’t have picked up this DVD from the library. I guess I was on a Kristen Bell kick after taking a chance on the gem that is You Again. Unfortunately, I didn’t strike gold with this rom-com flick.

I liked the story, but I found the execution silly. I know I’m supposed to, it’s a comedy, but it wasn’t funny-silly to me, it was more awkward-silly. This is what I meant when I said most chick-flicks don’t feel natural; I don’t believe any of this. For the most part, I liked Nick and Beth as a couple. They didn’t really go into their relationship much, but they were definitely cute together. If Nick could have just stopped walking into things, it would have been even better, but I guess that was the running joke, that he gets hit a lot. http://www.impawards.com/2010/when_in_rome_ver2.html

Everything else threw liking this movie out of balance for me. So the four other coins that Beth pulled from the fountain just happen to belong to four respective men also living in New York? And when they all inexplicably fall for her, they just happen to know everything about her? Her apartment, her job, her running route; and no matter where she tries to go, they always seem to find her without any trouble in an incredibly crowded city like New York.

For a movie entitled with a saying about Rome, we sure didn’t spend a lot of time in, or even talk much about, Rome. The whole saying is “When in Rome, do as the Romans do.” I liked that our protagonist went against the grain instead, to use another saying. But I still think they could have done better. For me, it lacked charm.

This entry was posted in PG-13, romantic comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

