The Dark Tower

Released 08/04/2017                              Rated: PG-13

According to the internet, I’m one of the few people who thought this movie looked good from the trailers. I read the first book, but I have to admit, I had no idea what was going on (in the book); I just had a hard time visualizing it. But this movie intrigued me from the first trailer. It’s actually one of the titles I’ve been looking forward to this summer.

I think I heard somewhere that this plot is outside of the books, so here’s the deal: if you’re a book snob (as I usually am), you’re probably not going to like it too much, but if you’re just looking for a good time, you’ll have fun. Nothing felt over-explained for those of us unfamiliar with the world. Honestly, they could have spent some more time taking the audience through this other world and its inner http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/03/19/the-dark-tower-stephen-king-reveals-new-poster-for-movie-adaptationworkings, but I’m not going to pitch a fit over it. It just would have been nice to spend some more time there. There are a few little Easter Eggs to King’s other works throughout the film, as The Dark Tower is supposed to be the loose connection between them all.

Everyone is great in this movie. Idris Elba is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. He really brings this character to life; I don’t think anyone else could have done it so well. They really captured the otherworldliness of the Gunslinger. Matthew McConaughey is once again brilliant. You can tell he had fun playing the Man in Black, the all-powerful big bad of the series. And the two of them squaring off against each other couldn’t have been better. Even the kid, Tom Taylor, who hasn’t done much yet, was pretty good. He sold his character of a troubled youth looking for the answers of his nightmares.

My only real issue is the very tail-end of the film. [Spoiler Free] The battle is happening, it’s the final stand-off between the Gunslinger and the Man in Black, and one of them wins…and then the next maybe five minutes are wrapped up in a pretty little bow and the credits roll. I find it neither believable, nor a fitting end to the film. A few reviewers have stated that the movie’s pacing felt rushed; I’ll agree that that ending was rushed, but I didn’t feel that throughout the film.

Overall, my husband and I very much enjoyed it. If you’re looking for a good time, definitely check this one out in theaters. It’s funny, action-packed, and mysterious. It’s definitely something I want to see more of in the future. We will be hitting it again in theaters before it’s run is up.

This entry was posted in action/adventure, fantasy, PG-13 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

